We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnabas House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barnabas House to your Saves list
Barnabas House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were very agreeably surprised by the welcome and the room
The breakfast was good
Indeed everything was far better than we expected
The personal service was tremendous
We would definitely stay again here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We're glad that your stay was a pleasant one. We try and offer everyone a high standard of service, which we believe makes the difference when staying in a family run business like ours. We very much appreciate your kind comments - hopefully we'll see you again in the future. Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
64
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and can highly recommend Barnabas House. Our family room was very spacious. The bathroom had lots of extras we enjoyed! - Shampoos, shower caps, lotions and body washes, which were all refilled everyday. The tea tray/biscuits/water were also replaced everyday which we really appreciated. Even better than the room etc was breakfast! The choice was very good and the food of really high quality. My 9 year old daughter particularly liked the sausages, cranberry juice and fruit compote which came with plain/strawberry yoghurt. The hosts Carolyn and Ian were brilliant. Carolyn was very friendly throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 (at the top of the house) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, and we're very glad that the breakfast went down well with everyone. Hope to see you again next time you're in Yelverton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay was quite short, but Barnabas house was a good base for our explorations in Devon and Cornwall. Being so close to Dartmoor National Park was big draw card for us. Tavistock is an adorable village just down the road (in Australian terms that is). The room was comfortable and fairly spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We are indeed lucky to live in the National Park, and still only 5 miles from the little market town of Tavistock and 8 from the city of Plymouth. We're glad you had a good time, and were even able to get in a little surfing at Newquay during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

All reviews about the hospitality of the hosts and the comfort of the rooms turned out to be absolutely true. Ian is witty and helpful, and Carolyn kind and attentive. The room was the most relaxing and clean that I tried throughout my whole journey, and also reveals a much taste in the choice of colours (peach, aquamarine and cream).
Enjoyable breakfast, and perfect scrambled eggs - thanks Ian!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks very much for such a lovely review, we're glad you liked your room and enjoyed your breakfast, those free-range eggs are so tasty, we love them too. All our rooms are decorated in restful colours, with the aim of making your stay as relaxing as possible. We hope to see you again if you visit the UK in the future.
Mille grazie, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were visiting Devon on a short break and visiting family. We decided on B&B instead of hotels and we found a real jewel in Barnabus House. Convieniently located with access to many local attarctions especially Dartmoor and some excellent eating establishments,we cannot fault Barnabus House.

Ian and Carolyn (the owners) were so friendly, most attentive and helpful. We could not have asked for any better hosts.

The accommodation was like staying in a hotel. We had a premier double room with en-suite. The attention to detail in what was provided in the room could not be faulted. The breakfast selection was also excellent and the "full English" really set one up for the day.

We will definitely stay again when we go visiting in Devon.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet, relaxing and extremely comfortable accommodation Barnabus House is def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
What can we say after such a lovely write-up ? Thanks so much for a wonderful review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was great to meet you both - and I think you've inspired us to go to the new Gary Rhodes restaurant ! We love to make our guests feel comfortable and help them to get the most out of their stay in Devon, so we're very pleased to read that we succeeded. Thanks again, Ian & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a short break Fri - Mon. The room (4) was well appointed, plenty of space and very clean and tidy. Breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked and plenty of choice. The location is fantastic for access to the south of Dartmoor and to the rest of the county. The hosts, Carolyn & Ian went out of their way to make sure guests were looked after. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, it was a fun weekend with you all here, and having the extra night meant you got some serious walking in on the Sunday - especially as the weather was so fantastic.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over the weekend just gone - and was fortunate to have the downstairs garden room (Rm7) ... Spacious and well equipped - breakfast was lovely and prepared / cooked fresh. Ian and Carolyn were the perfect hosts and even (very kindly) mailed my phone back to me - the Blackberry enjoyed the stay so much it decided to spend a day or so more in this wonderful part of the world. Only slight problem was shower went between hot and cold during use - though I put that down to other guests showering at similar times ... And it certainly didn't detract from the wonderful time we had :))

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you both. We're glad you liked the garden room, and had the weather to enjoy the terrace. I must admit that yours is not the first appliance that has enjoyed our hospitality for a little longer than expected, I'm glad it got back to you safely. Sorry about the shower, we have checked the water pressure and we think that possibly it was our fault for watering the garden first thing in the morning during this last dry spell. Apologies for that, we're pleased it didn't spoil your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Address: Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray, fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. Most rooms have a fridge, and some have a bath as well as a shower. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor and Cornwall by car, cycle or on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabas House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnabas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.