We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnabas House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barnabas House to your Saves list
Barnabas House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Harrowbeer Lane | Devon, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Consistently high standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our most recent visit for five nights after Christmas was the third time we've stayed at the Barnabas House. This time was different as we booked the whole house for friends and relatives attending a wedding. Carolyn deals with the admin with great efficiency; booking details were confirmed by email and room allocations adjusted to suit so that elderly friends could have a comfortable stay without coping with stairs. The welcome is always friendly with Ian on hand to carry the luggage. All our friends and relatives commented on how comfortable and well equipped their rooms were. The breakfast choice is outstanding with a wide choice of fresh and dried fruit, cereals, juices and an excellent 'full English' cooked by Ian and served professionally by Carolyn. We will certainly stay again when visiting the area and can recommend the Barnabas House without reservation.

Room Tip: Look at the helpful photos on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thankyou so much for writing your review - it was a real pleasure to have everyone here at Christmas for such a special occasion, and thankyou again for the beautiful floral arrangement you gave us.
We're very glad that everyone enjoyed their stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
68
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very friendly welcome by Ian who carried my suitcase upstairs. Excellent well-appointed room with good bathroom. Double bed, single bed, settee, dressing table, tea/coffee/biscuits: home from home with an excellent breakfast every morning cooked by Ian and served by Carolyn. Stayed 3 nights over Christmas while visiting family nearby. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about Barnabas House, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Christmas, and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for two nights early September. Great place; quiet but in lovely location. Friendly and welcoming owners and dog! Breakfast freshly cooked and very well presented. To use a cliche home from home. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review, we're glad you and your family had a good time here, and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife, teenage son and myself spent a very enjoyable three nights in Barnabas House. We were in room 5 which has a small single room within. This may sound as if the main room was compromised but it was not with a good sized settee, wardrobe and side table, plus a generous amount of space. A silent fridge with a pint of milk was also in the room. The bathroom too was excellent with a 1.8m (6') bath and a large shower.
The breakfasts were very good, the fresh fruit salads were particularly appetising. My son liked the TV that had a DVD built in, we watched some good films in the evenings, Ian & Carolyn have a good selection of films and books that are available to borrow.
First class stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us, we're glad you all enjoyed your stay, it was nice to meet some-one with a similar taste for Georgia O'Keefe. Hope to see you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport pagnell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Barnabas House and were very pleased with EVERYTHING....good
quality furnishings and comfort and can thoroughly recommend that this is the place to stay.
Homely atmosphere and food excellent. Make this your no.1 place to stay.
Margaret Meek.

Room Tip: We were in room number 4 on the top floor....light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review, it was a pleasure to have you as guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay, in particular the beautiful room (number 7) which had its own patio garden area together with visiting birds! We liked the pictures in the room which were tastefully chosen & full of interest.

Ian & Carolyn were very welcoming & the breakfasts were outstanding & imaginative (freshly-baked scones one morning, spiced plums the next!). The new fire in the dining room made the atmosphere very cosy, even though it wasn't cold during our visit. Having a fridge in the room together with fresh milk was another thoughtful touch. Excellent value for money too! We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you are able to spoil yourself, go for Room 7 with its private patio garden. If not, you will st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks so much for reviewing us again - it's great when one of our returning guests lets us know our standards haven't slipped. We're so pleased you enjoyed the garden room, and liked the new refurbished look of the dining room - which has also given a bit more space. Looking forward to seeing you both again soon, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from a one night stay after doing some sight seeing around dartmoor.Everything about Barnabas house is top class.From the warm welcome from Carolyn and Ian to a superb room(num1) spacious,big bed, nice bathroom own fridge with pint of milk supplied! spotlessly clean and decorated throughout the house,books to read dvds to watch enough local leaflets and guides to last a month.The breakfast again was superb,locally sourced bacon and sausages, cooked to perfection,quality juice and coffee,lovely fresh fruit as well heaven.Carolyn and Ian take great pride in their home and business and it reflects on a perfect place to escape to,thanks guys wishing you every success.

Room Tip: room one is right up the top of house quite a few stairs to manage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, especially as it was a present, and hope you'll come again in the future. If stairs are a problem for anyone we also have an en-suite ground floor room with its own private terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Address: Harrowbeer Lane | Devon, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray, fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. Most rooms have a fridge, and some have a bath as well as a shower. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor and Cornwall by car, cycle or on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabas House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnabas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.