We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnabas House

Save Saved
You added Barnabas House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnabas House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife, teenage son and myself spent a very enjoyable three nights in Barnabas House. We were in room 5 which has a small single room within. This may sound as if the main room was compromised but it was not with a good sized settee, wardrobe and side table, plus a generous amount of space. A silent fridge with a pint of milk was also in the room. The bathroom too was excellent with a 1.8m (6') bath and a large shower.
The breakfasts were very good, the fresh fruit salads were particularly appetising. My son liked the TV that had a DVD built in, we watched some good films in the evenings, Ian & Carolyn have a good selection of films and books that are available to borrow.
First class stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us, we're glad you all enjoyed your stay, it was nice to meet some-one with a similar taste for Georgia O'Keefe. Hope to see you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
52
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
newport pagnell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Barnabas House and were very pleased with EVERYTHING....good
quality furnishings and comfort and can thoroughly recommend that this is the place to stay.
Homely atmosphere and food excellent. Make this your no.1 place to stay.
Margaret Meek.

Room Tip: We were in room number 4 on the top floor....light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review, it was a pleasure to have you as guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay, in particular the beautiful room (number 7) which had its own patio garden area together with visiting birds! We liked the pictures in the room which were tastefully chosen & full of interest.

Ian & Carolyn were very welcoming & the breakfasts were outstanding & imaginative (freshly-baked scones one morning, spiced plums the next!). The new fire in the dining room made the atmosphere very cosy, even though it wasn't cold during our visit. Having a fridge in the room together with fresh milk was another thoughtful touch. Excellent value for money too! We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you are able to spoil yourself, go for Room 7 with its private patio garden. If not, you will st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks so much for reviewing us again - it's great when one of our returning guests lets us know our standards haven't slipped. We're so pleased you enjoyed the garden room, and liked the new refurbished look of the dining room - which has also given a bit more space. Looking forward to seeing you both again soon, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from a one night stay after doing some sight seeing around dartmoor.Everything about Barnabas house is top class.From the warm welcome from Carolyn and Ian to a superb room(num1) spacious,big bed, nice bathroom own fridge with pint of milk supplied! spotlessly clean and decorated throughout the house,books to read dvds to watch enough local leaflets and guides to last a month.The breakfast again was superb,locally sourced bacon and sausages, cooked to perfection,quality juice and coffee,lovely fresh fruit as well heaven.Carolyn and Ian take great pride in their home and business and it reflects on a perfect place to escape to,thanks guys wishing you every success.

Room Tip: room one is right up the top of house quite a few stairs to manage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, especially as it was a present, and hope you'll come again in the future. If stairs are a problem for anyone we also have an en-suite ground floor room with its own private terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a lovely one night stay. We were given a very warm welcome and shown to our room which had a TV/DVD (they lend you DVDs), an immaculate en suite and a very comfy bed. We were pleased with a plentiful supply of nice drinks and a kettle. There was off road parking. The accomodation was nice and quiet. We were hot so we borrowed a fan from our attentive hosts. The breakfast was the best ever. We had orange juice, home made flapjack which was yummy and a wholesome cooked breakfast. I am vegetarian and was really impressed with the veggie sausages, egg, beans, mushroom, tomatoes (grown in their greenhouse!), hash brown and wholemeal toast and butter. There was such a choice of food and the helping was generous. We didn't need to eat again today! We would definitely come here again and thought it was excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thankyou very much for your kind review - so glad you enjoyed the veggie option and the flapjacks. Hope you'll stay with us again and that you had a fun day geo-caching on the moor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Barnabas House. Our room was spotless and although smaller than the rest was adequate for our needs with a good supply of toiletries and tea and coffee. The breakfast was excellent with nice touches in homemade teabreads, spiced plums etc. Caroline is an attentive hostess who takes pride in providing a very good service where one feels nothing is too much trouble. Situated close to the National Park it makes an ideal location for exploring the area. The local pub across the road provides very good food and Plymouth is a few miles down the road for more choice. We definitely would like to return to the area and would not hesitate to stay again at Barnabas House, although we would treat ourselves to one of the excellent larger rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thankyou for taking the trouble to write a review - we're glad you would like to come back and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Barnabas House. The rooms we're very clean and spacious. Our hosts were very accommadating and friendly. Very nice place to stay if you're looking for a cosy bed after a day of exploring Dartmoor. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath_rugby_fan, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thankyou very much for your review, we're glad you were able to stay when the weather was wonderful, and managed to have some nice walks. Hope you enjoy the rest of your European holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Address: Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray, fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. Most rooms have a fridge, and some have a bath as well as a shower. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor and Cornwall by car, cycle or on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabas House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnabas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.