We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First holiday with the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
The White Hart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First holiday with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

What a wonderful place. We booked this Hotel for a wedding in Lustleigh on recommendation from the brides family. We where welcomed in by a lovely lady with blonde curly hair (sorry didn't get your name) but made a special effort with the kids and commented on our child's toy 'buzz lightyear!'. Couldn't have been happier with are room spotlessly clean and plenty of room. We staid in room 1 and had a two year old and a ten month old. They had put out a sofa bed out for the two year old and a travel cot for the ten month old. Our little girls loved their beds and having a t.v with built in dvd player also helped keep them quiet. The four poster bed was lovely and comfortable and couldn't fault the room at all. We had a meal in the Bar that evening and it was to a very high standard. And didn't take to long to come out (what with kids getting tired quickly) and the highchair was lovely and clean (something that sometimes gets missed when eating out). Breakfast was delicious with plenty to chose from. All the staff where well attentive and very friendly (in fact we weren't sure who the owners where) as you where all so good at your jobs!! All in all a very good stay and would love to come again soon (maybe for our honeymoon!) Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. Kind Regards The Francis Family

Room Tip: Ring in advance and the staff should be able to help with anything that you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that your first holiday as a family was spent with us! The blonde lady is Pippa, and she, and the rest of the team here, always do their best to make our guests feel welcome. Thank you also for your comment about 'asking in advance' - or even when you are here - as we are always happy to try and accommodate guests' wishes, but we are not telepathic! Do come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
54
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A really good hotel with brilliant staff and service. Nothing was too much trouble and we received a warm and friendly welcome. There is no car parking on site but there is a public park less than 100 yards away, the cost of which is peanuts. We stayed in Room 10, which had a super king size bed which must be one of the most comfortable we have slept in. The room/bathroom was immaculately clean with an excellent selection of toiletries and lots of other things you might need. The restaurant food and service was also first class. Highly recommended and an ideal location to explore Dartmoor

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 on the second floor seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review, we do appreciate feedback from our guests. People often remark on the comfort of our beds, and our housekeeping staff will be pleased to see your comments about our good levels of cleanliness. We are a small hotel and we all take pride in the different areas of our work, so thank you for such great all-round praise. And yes, we are in an ideal location for exploring Dartmoor! We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We paid £100 to stay in room 3 for one night. I understand that this is a standard room which would normally cost £110. Either way it does not, in my opinion, represent value for money and is certainly not "quaint". The room is done out in dark red pub style carpet and upholstery circa 1965, including the large upholstered headboard. It is furnished with mass produced dark brown hotel furniture which looks incredibly dated by today's standards. Presumably the room is meant to look traditional but then there is a modern light wood mirror, a modern blind and light fittings which don't match anything else in the room. On the walls there is an excess of rather undistinguished prints and pictures. The overall effect is of a rather drab, shabby room. However, the tea and coffee making facilities were good with plenty of decaf drinks. On the other hand one packet of two biscuits hardly seems generous for two people.

If anything the bathroom is even more run down than the room with tired paintwork and much patching up with sealant. The hard board bath panel is worn and cracked at the edges and there is black mould to some of the grouting round the bath. If you are not too tall and strong enough to turn the ageing mechanism you can stand in the bath and have a shower. The water pressure is good but the showerhead fitting is so loose that it tends to spray water randomly round the room.

The vegetarian breakfast was well cooked with beans, mushrooms and tomatoes but one egg and one veggie sausage seemed rather parsimonious given the saving on meat products. The decaf coffee was excellent and full marks to Julie who served us who was very efficient and achieved a good balance between friendliness and professionalism.

The hotel reception and office and is sandwiched between the bar and the lounge which means that, sitting in the lounge, one can unavoidably hear any conversations which the manager and staff have while they are in office. They may wish to exercise a bit more discretion about this particularly when having personal conversations or discussing matters which you would expect to be dealt with behind the scenes such as their tips and bar tabs.

Room Tip: Room 3 is probably best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are really disappointed that your stay with us was not all that you hoped for. As we say on our website, we are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms but have yet to complete them all. If you were unhappy with your room, you only needed to tell us and we would have found you a different room. We always do our best to deal with any customer issues as they arise, but if you don’t tell us you are unhappy, we can’t help.

If you were unhappy with your breakfast and would have liked more, we would gladly have proved it - you only had to ask. We try hard to ensure our portions are right and, in the past, any comments have been that we are too generous! Being called parsimonious is a first for us and a great disappointment.

As you will see from the many 5 star reviews on TripAdvisor, your views are very much the exception. Our value for money, standard of accommodation and quality of food are regarded as excellent. We are sorry in this instance that we did not suit your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel room was really beautiful and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was spacious and shower had enough water pressure. There were enough soap, shampoo, body lotion etc. available. Wi-fi worked very well in our room.
Staff was really friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good, cooked to order and lunch time menu was good too; we had tasty burgers.
Car park is located 100 metres from the hotel and it was free 6 pm to 9 am, and during date time it costs like £2 / 5 hours.
Moretonhampstead is located ideally in the middle of Dartmoor and scenery around village was really nice; we had nice walks around village.
I hope to visit The White Hart again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted that we ticked all your boxes and that you had such a great stay with us. Do please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived later than expected, but the welcome was undimmed. The menu choice in the restaurant was wide enough to suit my junk food addict partner and my somewhat more epicurean tastes. The room was very clean and well provided including local information on what to do and where, and the bed is probably the most comfortable that I have ever slept in over five continents of travel! Excellent and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back, but the main road doesn't seem to be that busy anyway and the sound pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review, much appreciated. We are regularly told that are beds are super-comfy, so we are glad you enjoyed them - the most comfortable across five continents is a great accolade!

Our restaurant menu is extensive and we like to try and cater for appetites large and small, traditional and modern, so we are glad we got it right for you! Do come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here with my 2 friends for 3 days. I have to say we were immediately made to feel very welcome. Although all staff were friendly, the stand out star was Pippa for whom nothing was too much trouble, to the point of running down to the car park on the last day with some items one of us had left. She is a great credit to the hotel.

Roomy rooms and comfy beds, lovely food, nice informal bar area with good selection of beers. We had a lovley and very restful stay so many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel and we're delighted that you felt we 'went the extra mile' for you... or in Pippa's case a few extra hundred yards in her sprint to the car park! We do always endeavour to ensure our visitors have an enjoyable stay and we're pleased we got it right for you. Do come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We are a family of four with two children under five. This hotel is very child friendly and the staff were very welcoming, and made a fuss of the children. The staff introduced the children to hotel cat and let them play the piano. The chocolates on the pillows were a nice touch, the room was very clean and modern, the towels white and fluffy. The food was the best I have had in quite some time, and there is a child's menu. Children are welcome in the restaurant which opens from 18.30. It is advisable to book a table. The only downside is that the car park is chargeable (minimal fee) so we unloaded children and luggage while the other parked the car. A great base to explore local attractions like the Miniature Pony Centre, Becky Falls and the Marble Museum.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We are pleased to hear that you, and your children, had such a good stay with us. We are very well placed as a stopover for Cornwall while also being a great destination in our own right. Maybe next time you could stay a little longer on Dartmoor and get to see what else we have on offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.