We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel Restaurant

White Hart Hotel Restaurant
The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
+44 1647 440500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $28
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Burton on the Wolds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Three of us and two dogs had an excellent lunch here. We sat in the late summer sun in the outside area. We were rather late and had no booking but we were well received and the lunch was delicious.. A good spot to eat whilst exploring The Dartmoor National Park.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent all-round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We ate here for a family milestone birthday, and were cared for exceptionally for the entire stay.

The meal was exceptional - one of the best meals I've had. The duck salad, crab linguine and the chocolate pudding were delicious, and everyone in the party agreed how excellent their meals were. The room was fairly intimate but very tastefully decorated, as was the rest of the building.

Despite there being another large function in another room, we still felt as though we had the devotion and care of the waiting staff for the entire evening, who were utterly charming the whole time and very accommodating to our table decorations and cake we bought with us.

We stayed a night in the hotel as well, which was clean, comfy and nicely furnished. Despite a brief problem with the electricity going out in the room after a fuse went in a light bulb, the manageress had fixed the problem within a minute.

Overall I would have no reservations in booking the restaurant for another special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Living 200m away this is our 'local' eaterie and we try to visit regularly.Being a vegetarian with a nut allergy is no problem either. If there isn't anything on the menu that takes my fancy, Chef will create another dish. Superb service and value for money. Karen runs a great ship (which incidently sank without trace when she moved away for a while) and her return was welcomed by many a local!! Long may she reign!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“English hospitality personified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I'm sitting in the bar at the White Hart as I write this and it's a very agreeable place to be. We have stayed in this fantastic hotel for two nights on our tour of the South West and it's was a great pick,(thanks to Trip Advisor). The restaurant however is the trump card of this place. Quite exceptional English food. It's not often I find myself raving about soup, but last night's parsnip and chestnut soup was quite marvellous. We also had sea bass salad and two of the three pies of the day, (lamb and red currant and goat cheese and leek), both of which were exceptional and in substantial portions. A good wine list, well kept local beer and great service with considerable charm added to the kind of experience you're hoping for in an Englsh country hotel. Worth a fair drive...or better still, stay in the hotel....rooms are small but delightful and the welcome very warm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Super meal, good value, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were a party of 10 and a mix of vegetarians and meat eaters, we all had pre-dinner drinks and chose from the menu which is very wide ranging and includes a host of interesting dishes. We all chose starters and a main course and everyone in the party expressed great satisfaction at their chosen meals. In every case the food was well presented, well cooked and extremely tasty, We had wine as well and the bill ran to about GBP30 a head - excellent value for the quality of the food. A word too about the staff who were bright, smiling and attentive. Altogether an excellent evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to White Hart Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.