We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazelwood House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hazelwood House to your Saves list
Hazelwood House
Nr.Loddiswell | Kingsbridge, Loddiswell TQ7 4EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loddiswell
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A most unusual place in today's expectation of hotel accomodation. Very welcoming relaxing atmosphere with excellant food situated in a beautiful part of Devon. For something out of the ordinary with great chill out factor. Have been a couple of times & will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley Kent England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for a few nights in 2012. Lovely isolated location overlooking a wooded valley. Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. Building full of character, dog friendly and great for local walks. Nice grounds to relax in and interesting artwork.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Rooms are old, cold and bathrooms are ancient and even if they are very clean they look very bad. The staffs are what make this hotel. Apparently there is only one Chef?! And the restaurant is closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays but there is no warning about this on the website. The menu was quite varied with a good selection of meats, fish and other dishes to choose from. The portion size was good with a good selection of wonderfully cooked vegetables. The stuffed quail was one the best I have ever had. Better than in France! The puddings are all home made and taste fantastic.
BUT! I do have to write about the building - a very nice old Victorian building. The history of it can be found at the 'reception' – a table with concerts and events happening at Hazelwood. The building was so called 'rescued' by the present owners 20 years ago. In my opinion they have destroyed the building and its surroundings. One of the owners told me, that it is their choice to let the wild grow and not trimming it. I feel they live in a bubble. The estate had a cricket field were there are now sheep that are grazing, a tennis court which is part of the forest and many more features which have been left in complete disarray. It's such a shame that it is not kept up to date as it is part of British history.

In conclusion: The food, staff and location are great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sunlight, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed an extra night as we were there for a weekend course. Location was nice as was the food. Atmosphere was relaxed as was the service giving a country house feel.

Rooms need updating, for example we didn't have a shower only a bath and the cleanliness of the rooms was not good. The owners were very nice but overall considering the amount we paid for B&B we would have expected better service and we would expect our room to be cleaned and coffee/tea replenished every day.

So our advise is give it a go but make sure you negotiate a rate which is commensurate with the service/facilities before you go!

If you go there have a trip to Salcombe, lovely and lively little place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelwood-House, Owner at Hazelwood House, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
It is quite correct that these guests staying for bed and breakfast before the course began, should have had their room serviced and things replenished – it was a very unfortunate over site on our part that this was not done their first morning .

Once the weekend course began there were notices put in the participants rooms to explain that, to keep costs down (it is a different price structure for a group), we do not service the rooms, however if it is particularly requested then we will of course make sure that they are serviced each day. We created a point where participants could help themselves to coffee and tea replacements – shower gel and shampoos etc. water bottles were refilled and available downstairs. It appears that this notice was omitted from the room in question which is unfortunate as we would have happily rectified the situation had we known.
We have since spoken with the guests and apologised for this oversight and offered a refund.

Jane Bowman
Hazelwood House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Once you find Hazelwood you realise it is worth the treck down the unadopted little roads and tracks. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A comfortable room with idyllic valley views, elegant sitting rooms with original artwork on display, excellent selection of delicious wholesome fare at dinner, superb breakfasts, and staff who could not have been more attentive to our needs: all of this ensured we had a memorable experience. This place is unique and almost magical. We shall return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed the country house feel of this place and found the owners and staff very pleasant. This created a house party atmosphere in which guests would talk before dinner. The two dinners we had were excellent and well presented as were the breakfasts. We walked a little in the grounds when we arrived, a steep slope takes you down to a stream with an old boathouse. The building is certainly old and will not appeal to those who enjoy Holiday Inns and the like but this is part of it's charm.

This does lead to a bit of a downside though. We had a large double room with valley view which was nice but the bathroom had had to be squeezed into the corner between the window and the period fireplace and as such was, what you might call, compact! Another slight down was that a bottle of local beer was charged on our bill at £4 and a lager at £3.50 which we thought was a little steep.

We stayed on a KGB deal so it was obviously good value but I do not think I would consider staying at the rack price.

One major problem with this part of the South Hams is the narrow roads. The drive down to the hotel would be quite tricky if you met something but, fortunately, we never did. We also found this a problem when we visited Salcombe and Overbeck House (NT) - a lovely garden but only about 12 parking spaces so cars park on the long and very narrow road - chaos!

Strangely, because of the roads problem, I find myself giving this hotel 4 or 5 stars but deciding I probably won't visit again purely because of the driving (but I am a senior citizen and like a quiet life).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We only visited this because of our Taste-card. but what a find.!! put your Sat Nav on and find this lovely house, we only used the Restaurant, but talking 2 people who were staying there, they just loved it. The house is so cosy, but if you want "Modern/chic" this isnt for you.!! this is a quaint house, that just oozes friendliness. The restaurant is superb. the service excellent. we spoke to one of the owners, and they are so friendly and helpful. this house is well worth the time to seek and find. yes the roads are narrow, but so are most of the roads around that area.!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazelwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood House

Address: Nr.Loddiswell | Kingsbridge, Loddiswell TQ7 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Loddiswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loddiswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazelwood is an early Victorian Country Guesthouse set in 67 acres of wild river valley in the heart of the South Hams, Devon.Nearby there are meadow walks and ancient sites to see and Dartmoor National Park is only half an hour away. In the opposite direction is the famous Devon coast with an array of award winning beaches and beautiful market towns to explore.The house has 14 comfortable bedrooms some en-suite with valley views.The fully licensed restaurant is open all year to all, serving delicious local and organic modern British fine food. Traditional cream teas are always available. Lazing on the blossom filled veranda in the summer is a treat whilst open log fores and candlelight provide that extra cozy feeling during the winter. Hazelwood continues to be a popular wedding venue and holds host to an eclectic programme of cultural and art weekends as well as concerts and gourmet dinners. Hazelwood is also available to hire for seminars, workshops, exhibitions and away days. Hazelwood offers good food, peace, beauty, nature, art and space to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hazelwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelwood Hotel Loddiswell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazelwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.