We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American style food Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 303

Route 303
London Road | Yarcombe, Honiton, England
01404861121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 54 Restaurants in Honiton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: ex14 9nd postcode
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“American style food Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although service slow (Easter) Very Busy. but Great Atmosphere and loved the Decor and Fab Music.Huge menu choice from salad to Ribs.Breakfast Puddings and Drinks.Staff work hard. Super Time had by all.Defo will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    103
    73
    45
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“0710 Hours - hits the spot for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited the 303 in the dawn light just after opening time. Any establishment that can be warm and inviting, serving hot strong coffee and a large plate of bacon and eggs within minutes of being seated gets my vote. OK ..... It's only pastiche american and 60's music over the tannoy might not be to everyone's taste at that time of day but I'm in my mid 50's and love Elvis, the Platters, Beachboys etc. Great views from the window seats, the rest rooms are well kept, the staff friendly, big car park, extensive menu and also stays open to 9pm - can't really say anything negative whatever. It ain't Texas but it is out west.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Im american and this is not american!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My Partner and I went here on our date night 21 March 2013 and I have to say that it completely ruined our night. I have lived in this country for 25 years but am always very excited when
A little bit of home comes to England. We were sat by the waitress who took our drink order and another waitress took our food order. We ordered Chicken wings and Onion Rings for starters and when they came I asked the waitress where our drinks were. The waitress who initially took our drink order came back with the drinks and apologised saying that she had a phone call and completely forgot. Well there were only 5 other tables on this Thursday night so I don’t know how you forget someone’s order?
The Chicken wings were so overly breaded it was like eating pure grease! And the onion rings were also very greasy and you couldn’t taste the onion! I know how to make chicken wings and this was just out of a freezer bag from a cheap supplier!
The mains came and we ordered the bbq burger and a burger with bacon. The bbq burger had so much cheese and sauce on it the whole thing fell apart along with the cheap value buns they use. The burger I had was horrible. The meat was cheap and grissly. The bacon was burnt etc etc. we asked the waitress for our bill and no one came back. The couple next to us complained about the lack of service and the two waitresses giggling at the bar instead of working to which another waitress replied ‘its all part of the atmosphere’! what?? Not doing your job is part of the atmosphere? Not at one time during our whole dining experience were we asked if everything was ok with our meals or if we were enjoying ourselves. Wills never go back to this place. It puts a bad mark on American food and service.
There was one good thing though…..i loved the carpet!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Style over substance but would love it to succeed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Looks stunning inside - ask for a window seat as the view is stunning too. We visited Monday lunch time March 2013 on the way back from Cornwall. I hope you make the improvements we suggest as we can see the owners have put a lot of effort into the fabric. Now the improvements that won't cost a penny - or should that be a dime? When customers arrive please don't ignore us even if you can't see to us straight away - a smile/hello/be with in a minute would work wonders. Offer us a drink when seated so when we are left 10/15 minutes we wouldn't notice so much. Repeat back the order so everyone is certain what was ordered we actually get. We didn't wait long for the food but the order wasn't quite right but we weren't asked if all was well during the meal or offered further drinks. The food/burgers were just ok but the fries were over cooked which was shameful for an American Diner. There was plenty of staff milling around so no excuses I can think of.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Better than average but not VERY good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

If you're on the way down or back to/from the West Country then stopping here rather than some godforsaken Little Chef is a much better option. Price wise and menu choice it's better than a Little Chef and has bags more character, considering its on the side of a busy road.
Haute cuisine it ain't. But what it does, American food meets good standards and is presented well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 303 also viewed

 
Axminster, Devon
 

Been to Route 303? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 303, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.