We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely pub with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yarcombe Inn

Yarcombe Inn
Yarcombe, Honiton EX14 9BD, England
+44 1404 861142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Honiton
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The historic Yarcombe Inn is a Grade II Listed Building situated on the A30 in East Devon, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Closed for over a year, it was rescued and run for over 3 years by a small but dedicated group of local people who re-awoke this wonderful old coaching inn, once more making it the heart and soul of the village. The award-winning Inn, which reverted back to private management in March 2013, is set in the beautiful village of Yarcombe nestling on the edge of the Blackdown Hills, and dates back almost a thousand years. It is said to have once belonged to the monks from Mont St Michel in France, and along with the rest of Yarcombe was later owned by Sir Francis Drake.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A lovely pub with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently visited Yarcombe as friends booked us into The Belfry for a birthday treat. They booked us into The Yarcombe Inn with them to celebrate and we had a fantastic evening. The food was great, service friendly and helpful and the pub made us very welcome.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great traditional country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had booked a table two weeks ago following the reviews and rankings was number one, was put off bythe reviews below but decided to give it a go. Charming country pub, attentive and welcoming staff and truely excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou for your review. Glad you enjoyed your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little lonely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having stayed at the Belfry for 5 nights (just opposite the Yarcombe Inn) we wandered across a few times. The people running the place seemed nice enough (and friendly)but there seemed to be a shortage of people frequenting the Inn Where have all the locals gone? I did not find this place inviting and can't say I would recommend it fora meal as you may end up eating alone.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
For an overseas visitor you have accurately pinpointed the problems many pubs have in this country. Many are failing each week and it is particularly difficult being in a remote and sparsely-populated area like ours. We do have busy quiz and music nights and at other times support is often very good; the skittles season is about to start too. Diners are often more numerous too ,we are sure you will be pleased to hear. Thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this pub for a meal after seeing this pub had won an award.What a disappointment the place was cold and decided to eat in bar as seemed slightly warmer than restaurant but not by much.The meal was just adequate as pub food but certainly not outstanding as other reviews have said,the menu was small with only one vegetarian dish.We asked for vegetables and were told you only got either potatoes or veg in the price so we paid £3 each extra for veg which we wouldn't,t have minded if there had been more but came in a ramikin size dish,the people who had chips had 8chips in a ramikin dish.Decaff coffee not available,all in all would say not a place I would rush back to as there are a lot of good food pubs around this area.Having read the reviews on trip advisor can only wonder if it is the same place we went to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
This is not the norm as you can see by other reviews so far. We are aware of the period in question when the temperature did indeed drop rather sharply. A very relevant point, which may/should have been mentioned by bar staff, is that the larger-capacity wood burner we have recently purchased had not yet been fully installed. This will be completed very soon. We are surprised by the stance on food but each customer comment is respected and acted upon where possible. The chips are triple-cooked and very chunky, so 8 represent a reasonable portion. Thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great beer and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Happened upon the Yarcombe by chance after a trip to the local Honiton Hill rally. I had not read TA reviews before hand and stopped more because of the beer festival signs.

Beer selection was really interesting and all (tried 4) in good condition.

ordered food cos kids wanted to eat....and what a cracking find. The smoked mackerel (home smoked) lite meals were probably the best value and presented dish I've seen for a few years. £3.50 for two fillets, potatoe salad, coleslaw and green salad...with interesting dressings. Most impressed.. kids loved the steamed mussels.

shame i only pass this way once a year.....splendid place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarcombe Inn also viewed

 

Been to Yarcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarcombe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.