We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toast

Toast
155 High Street, Honiton EX14 1LJ, England
01404 598067
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Arnside, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quirky and worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Couldnt find much by way of teashops in Honiton until we found "Toast". Very friendly and helpful staff - we only wanted tea and a biscuit - biscuits hard to come by in most establishments but we were offered biscotti and gratefully accepted. Some unusual furnishings giving "Toast" an almost unique atmosphere. We were well happy with our tea/biscuits and regret not being able to return for a proper meal. Well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    57
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinver, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb Bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant several times on our recent holiday to Devon. We had lunch and brunch there on two separate occasions and I have to say that the food, service, ambiance were first class on both occasions. We ate in the restaurant and outside and it was a complete delight both times. I did also pop in on a Sunday to grab some cakes and whilst it was nearly closing time I do have to say that the person service behind the till was not so friendly and nice as the girls who work there during the week. This women was unhelpful and not very friendly which is a shame. When I asked for a take away coffee she declined saying she had already cleaned the machine. Other than this small issue it was fantastic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invernes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Recommended by a friend - spot on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had been told that 'Toast' was a really good cafe but it took us a while to get there: spot on recommendation. Honiton isn't exactly replete with really good, interesting, places to take a snack or light bite, but this is one. On the high street, Toast is a delightful place with wooden tables and 'rustic' decor. There is a back room, but nicer to eat in the front; both are approached through the foyer where the counter is located and where you will already be tempted by the sight of fresh cakes. The kitchen is visible behind the counter, so you get a sense of how fast the swan is paddling beneath the surface as you find a seat. The service was friendly, and prompt, and flexible enough to cope with indecision and changes of mind patiently. Our visit was just a mid-morning snack, otherwise we might have raided the menu for something bigger, but a big surprise was the excellent price of tea, coffee, cake and buttered toast (what else?) - very good value indeed. Well worth a visit, but if travelling by car you'll need to park a short walk away: on street parking in the high street is limited in scope and duration and it would be a pity to rush the experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

what a great little place they do some great specials .. we always enjoy the afternoon tea always a treat ..on a sunny day they have a lovely garden to sit and relax in...I always look forward to going there..to meet family and friends....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Alot of people have said about the small menu at Toast- personally I don't mind this as the food thats on there is so well done! Cakes are gorgeous, staff lovely and the outside area is wonderful when the weathers warmer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast also viewed

 
Honiton, Devon
 

Been to Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.