We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food overall.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Raj
25 New Street, Honiton EX14 1HA, England
0140444334
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 55 Restaurants in Honiton
Restaurant details
Devon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food overall.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great food, although disappointed in the chutney tray, they seem a bit cheap. Main dishes are really good, especially king prawn rogan. It's not somewhere I'd rush to for a night out as the decor etc is not very exciting but if you fancy a good curry, and let's face we often do, then the food is very good. The owner is a very nice guy who makes you feel very welcome and is very attentive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I have eaten here a fair few times, and I will be back. Love the menu, service and atmosphere in the place. Glad we have this on our doorstep.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Service - food could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

First visit to the restaurant recently. Decor a bit bland and cheap - very thin paper serviettes.

However, we were made to feel welcome and cannot fault the great service.

Unfortunately none of the dishes we had were brilliant. Lamb korma very chewy, sauce a bit thin. Meat tough on all the dishes we had. I don't know what the other indian restaurants are like in Honiton but for top quality Indian dishes Exeter is much better.

If this restaurant got its act together (in a bit of a 70's timewarp) and upped its game food-wise it would be brilliant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

we were staying in Broadhembury and decided to have a takeaway the nearest one being The Raj in Honiton. The welcome was fab glass of lager whilst I waited for my meal to be prepared. The food was fantastic only wish this india was not a 4 hour drive from where we live.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster
1 review
“Great, friendly restaurant with really reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

I really like the food here and everyone that comes in gets a warm welcome. The service is great in my opinion, and the atmosphere is calm. ive had family meals here and enjoyed them.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj also viewed

 
Awliscombe, Honiton
Honiton, Devon
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.