We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner with family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flintlock Inn

The Flintlock Inn
Marsh, Honiton EX14 9AJ, England
01460 234403
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Honiton
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner with family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My first time at the Flintlock, and I was on holiday from America. Family local to the area took us here for a nice dinner. Everyone's dinner was lovely, and the prices are reasonable for the quality of food and the good service. I had the sea bass, and though it was different than Chilean sea bass I'm used to, it was delicious! Some in our party had dessert, and they looked amazing. I couldn't have fit another bite!

The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The staff was friendly and attentive. The menu was big and varied. I would go back here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    29
    3
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston,Lancashire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Gem in hiding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a pub use to be. Excellent food and service.Menu on bkackboards and plenty of choice. Only dowbside for us is frozen chips. Everything else first class.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have lived nearby for many years, but had not visited the Flintlock.

The lunch we had was excellent - plenty of food very well cooked. The owner was really friendly and welcoming.

This has been added to our list of regular vists

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic homecooked food in a very welcoming pub. An extensive menu and very generous portions. We managed to fit in 3 courses but were very very stuffed!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2 nights in a row and both equally as good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Visited here 28th Feb 2013 and 1st March 2013 as we stayed in a B&B within walking distance. The menu was extensive and interesting with something to suit all tastes. The first night I had chicken, leek and ham pie which was amazing, the side dish of shredded parsnips was wonderful. This was rounded off with Chocolate brownies and a nice bottle of wine. I thought this was reasonable priced for the quality of the food supplied. It was very quite on this first night.

Round 2! We don't often go back to the same place twice, but knew there were several other dishes on the menu we would love to try. Pork tenderloin with sauteed potatoes was as good as I had hoped, although the side of red cabbage was not really to my taste. Much busier and fairly noisy when a large group arrived by mini bus, but once they were seated in the restaurant area they were barely audible. All this with really nice music and a roaring fire made this a pub to recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flintlock Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Flintlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flintlock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.