We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Menu and Service - needs a lick of paint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The First and Last Bistro

The First and Last Bistro
Church Street, Ermington PL21 9NJ, England
01548 830671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ermington
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Country
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Menu and Service - needs a lick of paint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I went to the First and Last on a personal recommendation and wasn't disappointed. The menu is extensive enough to give a reasonable choice and my wife and I certainly had no problem selecting dishes to our tastes. Service was prompt, informal and friendly and if it lacked a little polish and experience the staff made up for it through being very helpful.
The interior of the bistro does need some attention and a good bright but inexpensive re-decoration would do much to improve it's appeal still further. The bill was a little higher than expected but with the wine and other drinks was reasonably priced. An enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bigbury, S. Devon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of our favourite restaurants - superb food, lovely ambience and excellent service from young and professional waiting staff. Tony seems to manage to produce something different and mouth watering each time. Many of our guest friends ask specifically to go there during their visit. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our local favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have often eaten out at this restaurant and have never had a disappointing meal. In fact we have often said it is a location we could recommend to anyone. Locally sourced food, imaginatively cooked with a quiet and intimate ambience, it is definitely our restaurant of choice, whatever the occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Nice location - food a little underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visited for a romantic meal close to Valentines day 2013. Quite a decent menu but we found the food was only OK at the price - not a cheap restaurant. The beer was great and sensibly priced. Probably best described as a quaint place to visit, but not one that will leave you with special memories of the food. If you like lots of garlic and flavour in your grub, you can eat better for less nearby.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Balls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

To get a seat on a Sunday in a virtually full restaurant, in the holiday season for one person and have a table for four cleared, you would think impossible, it would seem nothing is to much trouble for Karen.
The meat balls are just everything they should be, light with a flavour of the Med.
The dessert, fresh apricots poached in Amaretto syrup with crushed Amoretti biscuits and mascarpone cream were nothing short of divine.
All in all really worth a detour

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The First and Last Bistro also viewed

Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The First and Last Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The First and Last Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.