We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn Blackawton

The George Inn Blackawton
Main Street, Blackawton, Dartmouth TQ9 7BG, England
+44 1803 712342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Blackawton
Restaurant details
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lovely experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We reserved for 5 of us for the Sunday "carve your own chicken" deal. The response on the phone to my query about one of our party being semi-disabled was excellent. I was told that it would be best to drop him off at the front door and then park in the car-park. Also that they would make room for a wheelchair at one of the tables if we needed.
I had not read any of these reviews before we went so went with no pre-conceived ideas.
It was lovely! As stated in the menu the whole chicken was brought to a table next to us, with an abundance of vegetables. We were told that we could ask for more if we wanted.
The chicken was delicious, as were the vegetables and Yorkshire and gravy. Our elderly relatives (3 of them) really enjoyed the experience - they were able to have exactly what they wanted without the hassle of queueing at a carvery (something which can be difficult for the older frailer people). The other menu choices also looked tempting
The staff (barman and lady chef) were very nice and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine and delicious desserts. We liked the ambience and the views from the French doors - it must be lovely to sit out on the terrace on a nice summer day. We went on a rainy day but the room was nice and warm.
So - I don't understand the previous comments about the "dragon" etc. Has the pub recently changed hands?
We will certainly go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn Blackawton, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate a glowing review especially after the previous negative reviews.
We are very pleased to read you all enjoyed the food and service experience.
The George has not changed hands for many years. Ruth has owned and run The George since March 2002 with a brief period of leasing to tenants between Aug 2005 to Sept 2008, which was unsuccessful and forced the return of Ruth & Vic. When Vic unexpectedly passed away in December 2009, Ruth was left to run a business that was always Vic's pride & joy. It has been a rough ride but we all try our best to support her. Ruth was your lady chef on Sunday lunchtime, so we are pleased that she was nice and helpful, rather than the dragon, she was reported as. The barman usually works in the kitchen but wanted to experience front of house, so he will be pleased to know your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the 'carve at your table' experience rather than the traditional carvery. We had never thought how older frailer people struggle at queuing for a carvery.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We called in at 2.30pm after a walk as the other village pub was shut - and given the reputation of 'the dragon' we were wondering what kind of reception we'd get. It couldn't have been more friendly. Beer and coffee were brought out, the lady behind the bar and the locals were welcoming and inclusive - and our dog was plied with treats. A lovely, country pub. (The owner, we were told, was overseas.)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn Blackawton, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience.
We're pleased that the previous reviews didn't put you off trying us altogether.
We, as a team try very hard to impress customers with service. We are a community pub that welcomes locals and visitors alike, including their furry friends.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
486 helpful votes 486 helpful votes
“Update for August review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I appreciate the comment made by Rowena in response to my review recently, not being fully aware of the situation at The George, I can only sympathize. The only further comment I would like to make was she also responsible for the VERY thick tasteless soup and the rather sad pizza? In the past the food was excellent which was why we used the pub.
Obviously we will use the pub again to give it a fair chance and hope that it will return to the high standards of service and food.
I would be delighted to give a good review in the future and look forward to a positive visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn Blackawton, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I apologise for this delayed response to your last review update.
Thank you for your sympathy, unfortunately this is doesn't solve the problem. We have now reworked the position of the owner to work less front of house hours, which seems to be working well.
In response to your question, she wouldn't have been directly responsible for the food served to you. We are excited to inform you we are also currently looking for a new kitchen manager to develop an improved experience for the food sector of our business.
We hope that these changes will be obvious upon your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“rude rude rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

keep it simple the worst service i have ever encountered! pass on by to another pub.lady just seems to treat customers as a problem,pass on by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn Blackawton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. Apologies for a delayed response, I hadn't realised an eating page had been set up as well as our accommodation review page.
I can only apologise to you for your experience with us. We are working to resolve the person in question, the owner, from working front of house. The George Inn team work hard to meet all visitors needs and hope that one day you can return to create a fond memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallen, null, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rudeness!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The George is a village pub that offers food and "a warm welcome". I don't know who or what upset the lady who initially served us, but she quickly established herself as the rudest person it has ever been my misfortune to encounter in a pub or restaurant.
Never again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn Blackawton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry that you had the experience you have recorded.
The George Inn team work very hard to ensure all visitors are cared for during their visit. I have discussed the reviews with the person in question, the owner, and hope that she can alter her behaviour in future. We are working on a solution for her to step back.
I also hope you could find yourself here again and experience a completely different welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn Blackawton also viewed

Blackawton, Dartmouth
Blackawton, Dartmouth
 
Blackawton, Dartmouth

Been to The George Inn Blackawton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn Blackawton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.