We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I remember” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stein's Fish & Chips

Stein's Fish & Chips
South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
+44 (0)1841 532700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 71 Restaurants in Padstow
Price range: $37 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as I remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited in January while passing through Cornwall. Made a detour just to have lunch here. Remember it being exceptional. Unfortunately not this time. Fish was nice and fresh but the batter was 'soggy' and the chips lacked taste and to be honest we're 'scrappy' and hard. Definitely did not reflect the higher price paid. Will visit again but hope that next time they are back to their high standard. Oh forgot...the curry sauce had changed also...not for the better either!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    413
    301
    156
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We drove to Padstow just before Christmas especially to have Rick Stein's take away fish and chips. We imagined they would be wonderful. The fish was fine but the chips were the worst
we have tasted. They seemed to have been cooked and warmed up a few times. Admittedly it
was nearing the end of the day but that is no excuse especially at such a well known establishment. I met the chef outside and told him, his reply was that they had had a number of complaints that week! He blamed the poor potatoes due to bad weather. And yet they had kept selling them to people - unbelievable. Come on Rick - stop resting on your celebrity and get some quality guaranteed to punters who go out of their way to visit your shop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chips are amazing, scallops in batter is a step too far..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We really loved the fish and chips and return on a regular basis but battering and deep frying a scallop kind of ruins the flavour and texture.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A fantastic choice of fish to go with the excellent chips, I opted for battered Hake, Cod and grilled Mackerel were selected by my fellow diners. It was fantastic to be able to select starters of deep fried squid and prawns. Starters in a fish and chip shop why have others not followed this fantastic idea!! It was great value, fish and chips at the same price as pub meals, but remember the price creeps up with starters, dessert and delicious cider!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great fish but chips overcooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I'd been warned to expect long queues even during off-season but encountered no problems as I walked in and was served straight away. Choice of takeaway or eat-in. Check the website in advance as meal deals are sometimes available but not so obvious from the menu or their interior signage. Meal nicely presented in a simple box and great (fresh) fish goujons with a generous portion of chips. My only criticism would be the chips as they were probably dunked for too long and were too hard for my liking. Would visit again, however. If you are cycling the Camel Train from Wadebridge, then a stop-off at Padstow (5.5 miles away) for some refuelling artery-hugging fish and chips is very popular before you head back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stein's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Stein's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stein's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.