We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff. Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Custom House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Custom House Inn to your Saves list
Old Custom House Inn
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 54 Padstow B&B and Inns
Fordingbridge, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Helpful staff. Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice helpful staff and great location. Walker friendly, but compared with most of the places we stayed in while walking the Southwest Coast Path it seemed relatively expensive for what it offered. The attached restaurant Piscadou was lovely though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    111
    59
    23
    7
See reviews for
31
207
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here for two nights, in room 5 with views over the harbour and over to Rock. The staff were very welcoming and had helped my husband organise a few surprises in the room for our anniversary. Rooms are not huge compared to chain hotels but for a B&B in an old building, we thought they had used the space well and we had all mod cons. The age and location of the building also explains a previous reviewers comments about corridors and stairs - the place was not designed and built on a computer but hundreds of years ago! I agree it wouldn't be suitable for those with access requirements but its not something they can change.

The room was very nicely fitted out, bed was a bit too soft and small for our liking, but we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were good, the St Kitts toiletries were lovely and although there was some noise from the bar, it wasn't much and the location really does make up for it. We were able to pop back to the room at various times during the day, with the car just over the road in the pay & display, and we had great views. We were lucky enough to be staying at someone else's expense so couldn't comment on the value for money but its certainly somewhere we'd like to stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Called in with the family for an evening meal, personally would consider other places in Padstow. Initially the service was found to be OK, however as more customers entered the Old Custom House service depreciated, waitress did not return to ask if the meal was satisfactory, in fact there was quality issues which was taken up with the manager later only to be offered a free sweet, suggested to review customer service rather than try to compensate with freebees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Two night stay in mid September for anniversary. Not a cheap hotel but the room was beautifully decorated and presented with a fantastic harbour view. Clean modern bathroom with a bath and shower. Little noise from the bar below but we did not find it intrusive. The breakfast was well organised, well cooked and well delivered by friendly staff. We intend to return.

Room Tip: Room 6 had a full height window overlooking the harbour, not very wide but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A regular clean might help both ladies & gents stink an embarrassment to Padstow when you charge so much for the room's above I would think it would be a priority to have clean fresh toilet's in the public area

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here overnight as part of a surprise birthday treat. Lovely hotel and great location; our room overlooked the harbour, but we weren't disturbed by any noise. The bathroom is very modern with a wonderful power shower. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was also great with plenty of choice. Overall a wonderful place where the staff clearly take pride in what they do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the second time we have been to padstow and always found the staff very friendly and the food nice and good value for money. Dogs are allowed. We will be going to padstow again and we will be going in there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Custom House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Custom House Inn

Address: South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Custom House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Old Custom House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Custom House Hotel Padstow
Old Custom House Padstow
Old Custom House Inn Padstow, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Custom House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.