We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padstow Harbour

Padstow Harbour
School Hill, Padstow PL28 8DT, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Padstow
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cornish beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Strand which is a 3 story apartment right on the harbour front, which meant we had no issues with parking (permit provided) and was able to enjoy the natural beauty of Padstow before the tourist masses ascended by mid morning/noon. Particularly nice was taking a walk around 6am to take in the beautiful sunrise and the fisherman taking to sea. I don't know why everyone has it in for Rick Stein his name has bought in the tourists and the whole community is enjoying the fruits of that. If you are not a fan of his then there is so much more to see, do, and eat! Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    245
    61
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
580 reviews 580 reviews
394 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
“Quaint Harbour with high priced sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a picturesque harbour with cobbled streets and fishmongers.i went to buy sandwiches at a bakery and had quite a shock.An egg sandwich was £2.30 and a ham was £2.50.Even worse was a prawn mayo at £3.80.The moral being buy your sandwiches at a supermarket before you go to Padstow.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Typical traditional Cornish harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The ambience of the area. Natural working harbour.Some what dominated by Rick Stein with numerous expensive outlets

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Padstow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

People are right to say its busy, but a lovely place to visit and children seem to love it too. We parked in Rock and caught the Ferry over to Padstow which the kids loved!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-O-S
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice, but incredibly busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice place - typical harbour village - but be warned: it gets *mad* busy during spring/summer. Car parks near the harbour are full by 9:00am, so you'll need to use the Park 'n' Ride from outside town. Queue for fish and chips / pasties were going right across the harbour car park (and literally around the block for the best pasty shop). Either get there early (9:00am), or go elsewhere, I suggest. (Unlike many people, though, I *don't* blame Rick Stein! He runs a number of very successful shops here - oh of course, we Brits hate anyone successful don't we, especially if they bring flocks of pesky tourists to the area spending money in local shops!)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padstow Harbour also viewed

 

Been to Padstow Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padstow Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.