We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run and fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riverside, Padstow PL28 8BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Padstow
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well run and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed on one of the out of season 2 night dinner and breakfast package deals which I highly recommend. Rather than being restricted to a set menu as I expected, you can have anything from the al la Carte, you only pay extra for side dishes and drinks. All the food is full of flavour and beautifully presented and the breakfasts are lovely with a wide variety of dishes on offer. In the package you get to eat in two of Rick's restaurants, make sure the Seafood Restaurant is one of them. The Cafe is great too and serves restaurant rather than cafe food, it's just a more casual atmosphere. Bistro has a more limited menu but is still nice.

Everything is well organised with your tables reserved at the time of booking. The rooms are comfortable, cosy and modern with tasteful furnishings and beautiful bathrooms. Some are more spacious than others and some have better views, but all are of a very good standard. Of the rooms I've seen I'd recommend the Almora which is big and luxurious but apparently you do get a bit of noise from the kitchen fans.

Dogs are welcome which is always a plus and there are no silly rules about not leaving your dog alone in the room (so long as it doesn't cause any damage). The staff are highly professional and at the same time friendly and welcoming. Great walks along the estuary on dog friendly beaches.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    56
    30
    22
    6
See reviews for
32
185
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

At least once a year, my wife and I get down to Padstow, and we ALWAYS book in for a meal at the Seafood Restaurant. The staff are warm friendly and adaptable. By adaptable, I mean they taylor the service to you. If you are stuffy, you will get the cold, silver service approach, but if you are relaxed and smiley, you will recieve a relaxed and smiley service - something for everyone! The food is usually excellent (usually, I'll mention that later), with a frequently changing menu. The taster menu's are my particular favourite, providing a varied and interesting experience at a reasonable price. Wines are very good, with some excellent choices at the lower end of the price scale.
We did stay at St Edmunds House a few years ago, which while rather pricey was a very enjoyable experience, especially for a special occasion.
So is it perfect? Well not quite! My personal favourite seafood are mussels, and on 3 of the 4 visits that I have eaten the mussels I have been violently ill. I'm pretty sure from the symptoms and the onset time that I know what the bug was, and its a pitfall of eating locally sourced lightly cooked mussels rather than those pasturised tasteless Chilean varieties. Also, on one visit, I had seafood chowder, which was nothing more than hot milk with a prawn in it. A few ingredients got forgotten I think!
So as the title says, I Love This Place, I will be back next year, but I have given up on the mussels!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Superb service from the staff. Room was okay but quite small and bed and pillows were very soft.

All in all it's not so much a real hotel as a few rooms (B&B) located above a well known restaurant. The breakfast was excellent (as was the evening meal we had but this reviews for the hotel not the food...)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the seafood restaurant in room 3. highly recommend the room which had a view over the camel estuary. well presented with a very comfortable seating area and a good en-suite facility. Well worth considering a package for the out of season deals. with this you can combine the good room facilities with some excellent seafood too.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very good. it had a nice seating area and a good en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Our third visit here for lunch and it is outstanding. Staff are all very friendly. Fish is out of this world.
A must if you can.
The set menu is very good value but you could always just have a main course

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We only called the day before we were due to arrive, not minding where in "cornwall region" we stayed, I spoke to a lovely young person on phone who informed us i couldnt get two consecutive nights, however, if i was ok with packing our bags and leaving them inside the room they would move us. Very hesitantly we did this. Absolutely fine and we were delighted to be able to enjoy two different rooms. Room 6 is directly above the restaurant and a great room with a huge balcony. No problems with room at all, throughly enjoyed having copies of "Rick Stein" cookbooks to flip though, (signed copies can be purchased through reception) All extra touches were very well thought out and made this stand out as our number 1 spot in UK very romantic. Added bonus was dinner reservation was offered when we booked, this worked out perfect as we only had to walk upstairs after a wonderful meal. Breakfast back in restaurant, glad stayed two nights as choice was great

Room Tip: Room 6 has huge balcony and great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We decided to ignore the detractors and give Mr Stein's Seafood Restaurant a go - both stayed and ate there during our honeymoon. Everything was just perfect - the room was comfy, the staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was amazing. Just what we'd expect from Mr Stein.

Padstow is a delightful place - pretty to mooch around - the Seafood Restaurant is right in the centre. It is true, Mr Stein does own pretty much half of the town. But you can see what prosperity the famous neighbour has helped cultivate there.

We couldn't resist visiting his gift shop - as residents of his hotel, we were given a 10% discount for all his other premises, which was a nice touch - as we'd probably have shopped/eated at his other places anyway.

I would recommend Seafood restaurant as both a hotel and restaurant - the meal we had there and the breakfasts were outstanding. It was expensive, but you would expect that from a restauranteur with such a reputation.

I would like to say think you to the staff. On the day of checking out, my husband was taken ill and they were very helpful, allowing us to check out late with no extra charge, which is very unusual, and also offering to help us should he not have been able to leave (alas he recovered quickly but I was hoping to stay longer!!!)

Room Tip: We had room 8 - it wasn't the largest but was plenty big enough with a good sized bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation

Address: Riverside, Padstow PL28 8BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our 16 rooms at our flagship seafood restaurant and enjoy picturesque views over the harbour and camel estuary.At a glance16 roomsPrivate rooftop terraces (Rooms 5 & 6)Pets accepted (dog friendly in selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hireDisabled accessChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingThe locationOur guest rooms are above The Seafood Restaurant, famous for establishing an international reputation for imaginative cooking of the very freshest fish and shellfish by Rick Stein and head chef Stephane Delourme. BreakfastBreakfast is served in our flagship seafood restaurant with a choice of speciality dishes such as smoked haddock kedgeree, grilled kippers or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFor ultimate pampering book our Gulland or St Kew rooms for large stylish bathrooms, powerful showers and free standing baths.Relax and unwindPrivate balconies and views over the beautiful Camel Estuary make the perfect setting for some rest and relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifiTea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seafood Restaurant Hotel Padstow
Seafood Hotel Padstow
The Seafood Hotel
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation Padstow, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation to your Saves list