We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too quick a visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woodlands Country House to your Saves list
Woodlands Country House
Treator, Padstow PL28 8RU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Padstow B&B and Inns
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too quick a visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I booked a night here as part of our honeymoon trip to cornwall. I had reserved the bay room on line, as it promised a spacious, well equiped four poster bedroom suite. It certainly was, well above expectations! ! My wife was breathtaken from the moment we saw the house, it is absolutely stunning inside. Extremely gracious hosts to welcome you, we were made to feel comfortable from the first minute.
Beautiful plush bed with fine, fine linen and covers. Wonderful complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast, well, the best breakfast I've ever eaten. Selections of homemade muesli, granolas, jams and marmalade. Fresh fruit, homemade compotes. Best quality meats in the cornish breakfast.
If hugo and pippa have missed anything that could possibly make your stay any better then we certainly can't think of it.
We were just so peeved that we only had one night here!
Thank you so much

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    12
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever experienced The owners Pippa and Hugo were warm, welcoming and friendly. Hugo is a great character and his and Pippa's passion for the hotel, food and service is absolutely in evidence and this is what makes Woodlands so very special. The breakfast 'girls'! are a delight with cheery smiles, lovely conversation and always ready to help. We were in the large Bay Room which is fantastically comfortable and spacious, with a lovely four-poster bed, great bay window with comfy chairs and good bathroom. With fresh milk in the fridge on the landing just one of the lovely quirks of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and my wife really appreciated the luxurious of the bed linen,pillows and a dressing gown to slip on after a shower were also much appreciated. The breakfast was amazing, beautifully prepared and served hot. I loved Hugo's home-made granola bars and eat quite a few to be honiest. I have absolutely no hesitation what so ever in recommending Woodlands and we will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: the bay room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I can not speak highly enough of this B&B. On arrival we were greeted by Hugo the owner and made to feel so welcome as he showed us to our room which did not disappoint. The personal touches such as a little fridge on the corridor with fresh milk in it to help ourselves to, Hugo also told us we can put our champagne in. The Cornish breakfast was perfect along with Hugos home made Banana bread Pippas home made fruit compot and museli I could just go on talking about it. The hotel its self was spotlessly clean, homely with comfortable beds. In a perfect location for walking into Padstow or a coastal or country walk, we did take a taxi in the evening which wasn't expensive. I will without doubt be staying here again., Padstow to me means the Woodlands Hotel . Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever experienced- and it surpasses many hotels! Hugo and Pippa, the owners, were delightful! Very warm, welcoming and friendly- and charmingly slightly eccentric! Hugo is a larger than life character who was in the restaurant business before an accident prevented him from continuing. His passion for food and service is absolutely in evidence and this is what makes Woodlands so special. All the staff were fantastic- especially the breakfast 'girls'! Cheery smiles, lovely conversation and always ready with a tip about the weather or places to go. We were in the Bay Room, which is one of the larger ones, and it was fantastically comfortable. Spacious, with a lovely four-poster bed, great bay window with comfy chairs offering a good view of the surrounding fields and a tiny glimpse of the sea. Good bathroom. We loved all the little touches- Hugo's home- made biscuits along side the tea tray, fresh milk in the fridge on the landing, a newspaper of our choice delivered outside our room at 8.00 every morning. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we really appreciated the luxurious quality of the bed linen, pillows and quilt. Beautifully fluffy bath towels and a dressing gown to slip on after a bath or shower were also much appreciated. The breakfasts were heavenly! Wonderful choice, beautifully prepared. We particularly loved Hugo's home-made granola and his banana bread. No horrid sliced bread from the supermarket here! Rick Stein's best and delicious it was too. We didn't take advantage of the lounge facilities this time, but it is a lovely room to relax in if the weather is ever inclement and you don't want to venture far. There was an honesty bar, which again, we didn't use, but it is a welcome addition if ever you would like a drink before going out in the evening. Hugo and Pippa were full of suggestions on where to eat in the area and places you could visit or walks you could undertake. It was a very friendly, relaxed place where walkers like us were made very welcome- all was in place for you to deal with your muddy boots! It was great to see such a variety of people staying there from young families to couples- some young, some more mature. The house is a country house and it has been beautifully renovated, but it doesn't feel at all stuffy. Our room had the four poster bed but others were very different in style, so there would be something to suit all tastes. The walls in the hall and landing were crammed with very interesting photos of the owners family going back several generations, which gave it a lovely homely touch. We stayed three nights mid week and we were offered a special deal, which made our stay incredibly good value for money. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Woodlands and we can't wait until our next visit. Who cares if the weather's bad in Cornwall when you can just go to Woodlands and relax ( you don't feel you've got to keep out of the way all day here), eat amazing breakfasts and follow Hugo's tips on where to eat out in the evening ( and he can tell you ones to suit all budgets, not just the really expensive ones). Bliss!

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth it. We were in the Bay Room which was extremely spacious with two comfy c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pippa & Hugo made our stay, they are very welcoming, food excellent. the little home comforts made it special,like the milk in your own fridge!!
The house is in a beautiful setting with in easy walking distance of Padstow, also some fabulous walks in the area.
Would definitely made a return visit

Room Tip: We were with friends but stayed in the downstairs rooms which have easy disabled access and faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This bed and breakfast is about a 20 minute walk outside Padstow (up a hill) but we didn't mind it being slightly away from the centre - we walked in a couple of times but used tacis in the evening. It is a beautiful building that is clearly a labour of love. The beds were ever so comfortable and there was a great shower in the bathroom. Little touches like fresh milk were appreciated. The breakfasts were really good and you can tell that Hugo is a chef. I liked the honesty bar and the lounge which we used to relax in. The room was a bit on the tight side as a twin and very hot even with the windows open, so we used the fan in the room. We couldn't switch off the heated towel rail in the bathroom which might have helped. However, despite these little niggles, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here. I travelled with my 79 year old mother - not sure whether that gets classed as family or friends, so I have chosen friends as she is certainly one of mine!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HugePerson, Owner at Woodlands Country House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am sorry you got a little hot in Room 7. It is the warmest room in the house as the Aga is just below it. However, all it needed was for you to dial ‘0’ on the room phone and one of us would have produced a small air conditioner, or would have switched off the heater or even – if it was possible – found you another room. I find it very difficult to understand why guests find it so difficult to request a service AT THE TIME. It is no good to us or the guest if the complaint is made days/weeks later via Tripadvisor! Is it because us Brits don't like making a fuss or a complaint? It is a terrible shame this guest could not have the full benefit of staying at Woodlands for the sake of just picking up the phone and dialling '0'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed at Woodlands for 2 nights in October this year.

This is a lovely friendly hotel.
Hugo and Pippa are both very welcoming and the room was very nice (we had Room 1, the Kingsize double). The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is nice and quiet.

Having stayed at a couple of other hotels in Padstow I would certainly say that this is the best.

The breakfast is definitely worth a specific mention. Fantastic. Hugo's breakfasts are brilliant and something that will definitely help you get up in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Country House

Address: Treator, Padstow PL28 8RU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Country House is a comfortable bed and breakfast guesthouse, a large Victorian house standing in a rural setting with farmland views, sweeping down to Trevone Bay and the coastline. There are eight en-suite double and/or twin rooms all individually and stylishly decorated - four Standard rooms, four Premier rooms. There is an honesty bar in the guest sitting room and outside; a car park and gardens. In the morning enjoy our famous Cornish breakfast. Accommodation with breakfast with a touch of splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Country House Padstow, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.