We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornwall Triumphs Christmas Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
waterlooville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cornwall Triumphs Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We travelled from Portsmouth on the Friday afternoon and arrived early evening to check in . The reception staff were very helpful , polite and very upbeat. Our room was on the third floor which you can reach by the way of a very wide and elegant stairway or by lift. The room was clean and tidy and had a radio alarm and telivision , plus a good selection of coffee and tea . The bathroom was light and well lit . There was a seperate shower cubicle in the bathroom.
Breakfast, your were spoilt for choice , West country English , smoked salmon and scrambled eggs , musli , fruit salad , yoghurts, sliced melon just to much to mention and all of excellent standard. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful and seemed to be enjoying their job.
On the saturday evening there was a dinner and "disco" . Hats and streamers were supplied to get people in the party mood. Place names were put on the tables and on the reverse was your choice for dinner , which helped the waiting staff and you if you had forgotten what you had ordered . The starters came out , efficiently and to the correct person.I had the salmon for main coarse which was cooked to perfection which must have been hard for the kitchen staff to do as there were so many people there , and all the meals were hot when they reached you. The only downside of the evening was the "disco" which was a bit lame.
The location of this hotel is excellent , overlooking Padstow Harbour and the River Camel. A great place to stay if you wanted to explore the area.
The Christmas decorations were tastefully done .
As someone has said before , some of the hotel decoration may be a little tired but this does not deter from the fact that is a quite ellegant building.
We had a great weekend there and would recommend the hotel highly and would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    255
    121
    50
    33
See reviews for
99
513
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Annual trip to Padstow saw us stay at a different venue to our usual aboad and the value for money was excellent. 9 of us stayed at the Hotel and it was very welcoming, the staff were great and the desk staff were polite and helpfull and very cheerfull, the rooms may be a little tired but for the deal we had they were very good. The breakfast was fresh and tasty and plenty to choose from, and the veiws over the estuary were perfect to set the day up with. We came back late on a couple of occasions and the night staff were very helpful getting the bar open and making some sandwiches for us , abig plus point.! We did not use the restaurant but talking to guests who did only had complementary remarks to make. Overall great deal will be back next year ,also christmas week festival Padstow was buzzing busy weekend great fun.!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is fine for an overnight stay, it's excellent location allows you to explore Padstow on foot with great views over the estuary and town.
The decor is a bit tired but the staff were super friendly and the breakfast was good. We didn't have dinner here but did use the lounge for a glass of wine before going out and there was a nice atmosphere.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Myself and my partner had a lovely 2 night stay. Our room was described as box basic, but was so lovely It should have been described at much more! The staff are friendly, and the outlook is nice at breakfast. The only thing that wasn't good was that our room was too hot. We were boiling and the window wouldn't open without a key....with a buzz down to reception they got someone to open the window for us and they gave us a fan. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Padstow. Great for couples and old friends.

Room Tip: There is WIFI points on all floors however does not work on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time at the Metropole in Padstow and we were pleasantly surprised. The two things that stood out was the dinner on our first night which was fabulous and the beauty treatment in the new spa room. I thought I had already had the best facial when I holidayed in Dubai a few years ago but Jessica was incredible and stands out as an excellent beautician. She has magic fairy hands and was utterly charming......what an asset to the Metropole.

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough Hants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel only one night in order to attend a function being held there.

The staff could not have been more attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, and the high morale the staff was obvious.

The hotel is one of those good "old fashioned" types, where the guests needs come first and foremost. So what if the decorators need to put a lick of paint here and there.(I am being picky here, because the need is not great).

Superbly comfortabe rooms, with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in ( apart from the one at home that is!).

The food was as everyone says excellent, and although our function was attended by some 120 people, service was in this case adequate rather than exemplary, due to a lack of staff numbers.
By my calculations the hotel was about 6 waiting staff short, but noone starved and we all got our dishes as they were meant to be.

My breakfast was FULL of goodies and there was enough to keep me going until almost tea time without starvation setting in, but one guest could not find anything positive to say about this (or anything at allto do with the hotel, but there is always one moaner, is there not?

Great situation overlooking the harbour with good public rooms. These were handy as the rain and gales were doing their best to waste the weekend for us. Plenty of boxed games to keep us occupied.)

I will happily stay at this hotel again, and enjoy good food, warm friendly service wnd the convenienc of being close to Padstow centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Haggismacsporran

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, I am extremely grateful and I will enjoy discussing it with all the team.

We do aim to offer the highest of standards of customer care and service and therefore we strive to employ staff for their attitude first and foremost - a genuine desire to please our guests is vital and should be natural, rather then false!

I will be investigating your comments on the function service as, although under pressure, I would still expect the team to offer a great standard of service.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of your patronage again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have been going to the Metropole in Padstow for years. It's old and dated, and overlooks a working harbour, which for me, add to the charm of the place! The garden rooms are huge, especially the two corner ones. There is a real fire lit in the foyer in winter.....the food is lovely, so are the staff. There is also a lovely little salon with expert beautician. Not a cheap place to stay....but well worth it!
The outside of the hotel could do with smartening up, as the size of the hotel, and the dark grey colour of the stone make the place look a bit grim......which it certainly is not!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Glennfa

Thank you so much for writing this generous review, I am genuinely delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay!

I do hope you will consider revisiting us at The Metropole again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Metropole Hotel is an historic landmark four star hotel in Padstow. Overlooking the town, harbour and the Camel Estuary, The Metropole has spectacular grandstand views that are unsurpassed anywhere in the region. The combination of grandiose Victorian architecture, relaxing and comfortable rooms, award-winning food, fantastic views, facilities, on-site car parking and fanatical staff, makes The Metropole the perfect base for a visit to this fascinating and beautiful part of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.