We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greens Cafe

Greens Cafe
Padstow, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 71 Restaurants in Padstow
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: cafe with homemade cakes and view of Padstow estuary
Spalding
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The tea garden offers superb views over the harbour from seats around the terrace and well worth climing a few steps for, but there is very limited interior space should the weather turn inclement. The smoothies were delicious and very good value by Padstow standards. It was nearly full when we visited but, even so, service was painfully slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“No loos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good eats but no loos, was told to use public one down the slope yak, bit of a wait as well, but food good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really disappointing experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Although regular visitors to Greens Cafe for coffee/drinks we occasionally have lunch there as Greens is in a lovely position with a stunning view of the estuaru Today was one of those occasions and sadly we wish we hadn't bothered! We should have read the warning signs and left before ordering as ... previoue occupants of the surrounding tables had all left their portions of salad on their plates; the waitress cleared our table (returning to remove a large lump of bird mess off the table with some paper towel), but omitted to wipe and properly cleanse the table as would normally be expected; when quizzed as to what the '3 dips' were that formed part of an option on the menu, replied that she had no idea ... however she could ask someone! The menu is not a big one and so there seems to be a bit of a staff training issue here. As the cafe no longer serves paninis, we opted for toasted sandwiches. Instead of being served 'normal' toasted sandwiches with sealed edges, these turned out to be 2 slices of toasted sliced bread with a small amount of filling put between. In the words of my guest ... they are obviously not looking for repeat visits!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Average cafe on way out of Padstow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Distinctly average, maybe like so many Padstow places slightly complacent? Good view from outside terrace. Inside was sticky, non wiped tables with disinterested staff. Only had coffee or other soft drinks, not inspired to order food. Free wifi is a slight bonus

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crean tea at it`s best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visit Greens everyday when we are in Padstow, after a walk from the beach its the perfect treat. A great place with a great view, lovely staff and cakes to die for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Greens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greens Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.