We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Walkers Fish and Chips

Walkers Fish and Chips
The Strand, Padstow, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 71 Restaurants in Padstow
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

As our favourite backstreet chippie was closed on NYD we chose Walkers for our take away. Should have had a pasty instead. Chips tasted as if they'll been in the warming cabinet for some time And were greasy, I thought they had a slightly strange taste although to be fair my husband disagreed. Fish was fresher than chips but not top quality. Batter was crisp but swimming in grease. Lots of room for improvement

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    26
    18
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect lunch time venue for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

let me start by saying that this is my first review. I often use trip advisor but have not been moved to review myself before and this time would be no different were it not for the short thrift giving to that cafe by the last review. i visited padstow on the 8th dec which was during the weekend of the christmas festival (7-9th dec). we chose to have our lunch there. We decided to have the fish and chip special offer which they had on at the time (complimented with a couple of free mince pies ). The service was quick and the staff were friendly, though there was no sign of the short dark haired chap refurred to in the previous review. Our food when it arrived was hot and obviously freshly cooked and though perhaps nothing special it was enjoyable. Special mention should be made as to the fact that even though they appeared to be very busy they had still had time to prepare a special sandwich which was not listed on the menu for my daughter. As ive said the food was enjoyable and pretty much what one would expect from a fish and chip cafe and the friendly staff and quick service were both excellent enough to prompt this review. so to sum up our visit i'd say the food was ok, the service was good, the prices are a little high (living in cornwall this was no surprise to us as some of the tourist town prices are high and to be expected) the portions were ok though the fish wasnt the biggest piece (but it was on special offer so came with peas and coffee free). all in all it was pretty good and certainly kept hunger at bay until we returned home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE,HORRID FOOD,RIDICULOUSLY SMALL PORTIONS,EXTORTIONATE PRICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

BAD SERVICE, HORRID FOOD, RIDICULOUSLY SMALL PORTIONS at an EXTORTIONATE PRICE.
So where does one start? Fryer not fresh, oily fish & chips covered in burnt on remains from several days usage. Not a good taste. don't bother to complain, the staff just look at you & laugh "what did you expect ere"said a tall chap with dark short hair, on that point his personal cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired too especially as he called him self a senior member of staff.
If i wanted a child's portion i would have ordered one, I know there is a shortage of fish in Uk waters but this is taking the "fish"
I hope the extortionate price we paid goes towards training on customer service skills & basic food & personal hygiene. ie don't cough in your hand & then pick up someones bread roll.
I did bring this to the attention of the person above but he didn't give a "flying fish" on that one either. It only takes a little "Mussel" to smile.
Don't bother with this "PLAICE" there are plenty more fish in the sea.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Ordered fish and chips from Walkers, the fish was excellent, in a light crispy batter and cooked to order. Very impressed with portion size for the price, and as for the chips, we ordered a portion each and there were enough in one portion to feed two people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner and I decided to have Fish & Chips for lunch whilst visiting Padstow. We wanted to have take-away but as the weather was not good we decided to eat inside. The staff were very friendly and we found the food really tasty and reasonably priced. We will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkers Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Padstow, Cornwall
 

Been to Walkers Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walkers Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.