We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chough Bakery

The Chough Bakery
3 The Strand, Padstow, England
01841 533361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 71 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oh dear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

So being on telly makes you a star. Well these are not star quality. Small and over priced . Mass produced filling mixed in a bowl. And the boss serving could at least smile

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    110
    31
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor choice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to get a sandwhich at 10:30am what a poor selection. All day there are people out the back so why don't you have them making more to stock the fridge up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Public Relations Manager at The Chough Bakery, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi There

I'm so sorry you found our selection poor, As we are a bakery that produces lots of other homemade savoury products as pasties, pies, quiches, sausage rolls and more, we do only produce a small selection of sandwiches. This selection does increase dependent on how busy we are, but be are respectfully of our local sandwich shop and would not increase our range too much because of them.
Thank you for your comments and they will be past on to the shop manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“poor pasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been coming to padstow for over ten years and all ways head for this pasty shop well not anymore I'm sorry but you are ripping people off your pastys have reduced in size in the last two years and the price has gone up two for a smaller size . Just because you were on telly it dosent give you the right to rip off your customers . I've all ways recommended you to friends well no more I'll tell them to go to the pasty line in helston bigger and better pasty and a cheaper price and more flavours then just four . Sorry but you had this coming !!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Public Relations Manager at The Chough Bakery, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi there

Sorry to hear that you found fault with our pasties but I can ensure you that sizes are the same as they have always been. We do a small (cocktail), medium and large (formally known as standard when we only did 2 sizes) the pastry and the filling are all measure but they can appear small if they are crimped to tightly.

Unfortunately our prices have increased over the last 12 months due to the rising cost of flour, vegetables & meat (and not the tv show). We try and locally source all our ingredients and some this year have increase by over 50% due to bad seasons. We tried not to past it onto our customers but unfortunately sometimes this does happen.

Thank you for your comments and I will pass it onto the owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Try the award winning pasties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lovely pasties...succulent, plenty of meat. Not a 5 star as they were not quite as good as a butchers we visited in St Just near Penzance, but thoroughly enjoyed them, thank you. Would be nice if you could sit in or outside given the fabulous location right in the middle of the harbour, only take-away service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pasties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went for the large traditional at £3.95, not cheap but undoubtably the best pasty I've ever had and a meal all by itself so actually pretty good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chough Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Chough Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chough Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.