We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food/Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Basement

The Basement
11 Broad Street, Padstow PL288BS, England
01841532846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Padstow
Price range: $8 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Basement is built within 'The Drang', a small shopping area on the Quay, and has fantastic views overlooking the Harbour. The Basement has a comfortable inside seating area and a superb newley refurbished alfresco seating area with Harbour Views. It is a great place to eat, drink and socialise in a relaxing environment. If you wish to start your day with a Breakfast, Morning coffee and Cake or prefer to relax inside or outside with a glass of Wine or Beer with our Lunch or Evening Menus then we look forward to seeing you. Click 'Details' for more info and photos.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food/Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had an evening meal here in February. The staff were very friendly on arrival and throughout the evening, always a good start! We had three courses from the menu which is equally priced to the quality of the food. Now for the food! One word "Fantastic". It would be a great shame if you visit Padstow and miss the experience to dine here. **********

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    178
    43
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have visited a few times, and could never find fault with anything. The staff are efficient and friendly, they are well versed in thier menu and can answer dietary questions, and if they cant, they find out for you. The food is really well priced, the Basement is not large and they do have more than one sitting, so if you have an early table you might have to vacate it after 2 hours, but this is explained to you when you book, and its more than enough time to enjoy a 3 course meal and coffee, as they do not keep you waiting too long between courses, yet you do not feel as if you are being rushed out of the door. They always offer you a bottle of tap water, rather than try to force you to pay silly money for mineral water, and the staff seem to have just the right balance of checking that everything is okay without you feeling they are 'in your face'. I cannot eat certain foods and the chef has always been obliging in tweeking the menu for me, so that I can still enjoy things without it having to be a basic, boring steak..that being said, their steak and chunky home made chips are delicious. The menu changes with the seasons, so if you go regularly you dont get faced with the same thing time and time again and there seems to be a good mix of fish and meat dishes, and although I always say I dont have room for a pud, I always end up seeing someone elses come out and having to order some. Their patsry chef is great Would always recommend to friends, and working at a holiday park, highly recommend it to our clients if they ask for somewhere other than 'Rick Steins' to eat in Padstow...its good food, good service and good prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to try The Basement for lunch.
The menu was perfect for winter with lovely comfort food. I had the best fish pie ever.
Good value food.
They are very child friendly with good menu for them.
The staff are very attentive.
Will definately go again on our next visit to Padstow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as normal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Been several times and though still good , little dissapointed with dinner this visit , pork belly was rather dry and baked cod was tough .Shame but must be considered a blip as all previous visits have been faultless .Rest of meal for others was very good and staff as always faultless ... will be back

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Padstow has become a center for good food and The Basement is one of the stars of the town. During the winter is has indoor covers for just over 20 but during warmer days they have a covered but outdoor eating area.
I see it as a café with style, tasty food and great value for money. We both started with Mussels in a cider sauce – these were the highlight of the evening. For mains I had the Crayfish Risotto with pan-fried Hake and my son had traditional fish and chips (fried cod, jenga chips and a pea puree.) Both the mains were tasty and very reasonably priced - I’m glad I it was my turn to pay here as my son was paying tomorrow at Rick Stein’s!!!
When I am next in Padstow I will happily revisit for either lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basement also viewed

 
Padstow, Cornwall
 

Been to The Basement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.