We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Padstow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Basement

The Basement
11 Broad Street, Padstow PL288BS, England
01841532846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Padstow
Price range: $8 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Basement is built within 'The Drang', a small shopping area on the Quay, and has fantastic views overlooking the Harbour. The Basement has a comfortable inside seating area and a superb newley refurbished alfresco seating area with Harbour Views. It is a great place to eat, drink and socialise in a relaxing environment. If you wish to start your day with a Breakfast, Morning coffee and Cake or prefer to relax inside or outside with a glass of Wine or Beer with our Lunch or Evening Menus then we look forward to seeing you. Click 'Details' for more info and photos.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best in Padstow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our favourite place to eat in Padstow , food excellent and the owner and his staff second to none, if you can get a table outside the view of the harbour is stunning.
I can’t say enough good things about this place either for lunch, dinner or just a coffee it’s the place to be.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    174
    43
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1st Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Not our first visit, but it's such good value that we were looking forward to a nice night out on Valantine's day. As always great food, wonderful service and excellent value.

i can't wait for the weather to warm up so I can start cycling to the basement in the summer.
looking forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb food, at reasonable price, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We ate here on their first day opening after their Winter break - and it was excellent. Superb food, with excellent service, and reasonably priced wines.
We enjoyed three courses, with a bottle of wine, and came away not feeling utterly stuffed.... but really impressed with the quality of the food - simply delicious and reasonable. We paid £74 for 2 including tip.
We will be back!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stumbled into The Basement for lunch on a cold and drizzly December day & I can now see why the place has such good reviews. High quality local ingredients are cooked almost infront of you - the sausage sandwich was fantastic! We'll be returning to Padstow soon and will be sure to go for dinner. A great find.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This was our third year on the trot for a NYE meal at the Basement and I have say yet again we weren't disappointed!. Even though it was a set meal they still offered us a variation to one or two of the mains. Great little restaurant very cosy. Booked again for 2012.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basement also viewed

 
Padstow, Cornwall
 

Been to The Basement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.