We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally Good; But.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. Moritz Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trebetherick | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Wadebridge
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Generally Good; But.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed before in the St Moritz and would probably do so again; but our overall impression was that standards have fallen slightly.

Pros:
Excellent accommodation, very friendly and most helpful staff, outstanding location.

Cons:
Standards, especially regarding the quality and quantity of food in the bar, have fallen and no longer represent VFM; however, breakfast is perfectly acceptable and well managed.

Also, during the afternoon and early evening, staff from the hotel regularly use the lounge and bar areas to conduct hotel business meetings, with guests having to sit amongst these.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    144
    52
    12
    11
See reviews for
137
339
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Visited this hotel for a 4 night stay in June and stayed in a King Room which had the addition of a beach hut next to the swimming pool (to make up for a view of the car park).

The room was spotlessly clean, bright and modern with a small but well designed shower room. On arrival a member of staff roomed us but she did this without any enthusiasm and failed to point out any of the amenities that the hotel or room had to offer. However, service on the front desk, restaurant & bar throughout the rest of our stay was extremely good.

Breakfast really did have a great selection of hot food together with prompt and attentive service. The hotel bar has an extensive range of drinks, cocktails & coffee’s, lots of comfy sofa's and a table area for bar food. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious - lots of choice and again the service was brilliant.

I'd like to have tried the Spa, but was told it was full with no appointments available. If you want to use the facility, book before you go - don't expect to arrive at the hotel and be given an appointment, especially as no distinction is made between hotel and non-hotel guests. This is a real shame and gives the perception that hotel guests really aren’t valued.

The hotel has a Land Rover which will take you to the nearby beaches at either Rock and Polzeath, drop you off and then pick you up when you want to come back. This is a great idea and saves a long walk or trying to find somewhere to park.

Even nearer is Daymer Bay, a fabulous unspoilt sandy beach. You can either sit on the sand and enjoy the sunshine or when the tide out, walk around the coast to Rock, truly glorious.

We will be returning to Cornwall soon and will definitely consider staying at the St Moritz again.

Room Tip: If you pick a King Room you will have the benefit of a Beach Hut by the pool. However if you can aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! Despite some thick sea mist, the location was still breathtaking, and we loved the coastal path walks from the doorstep. The hotel itself is chic, sophisticated and art deco in style. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (known as "Cosy"), which was perfect for our needs and fully equipped with all life's little comforts (well stocked mini-bar, fresh milk for tea, dressing gowns, iPod dock etc.). The bed was so comfortable my partner likened it to what sleeping on a cloud would be like! The Cowshed Spa and leisure facilities are also fantastic and very clean - I enjoyed two pampering treatments while my partner went off surfing in Polzeath. Breakfast was also absolutely scrummy - especially the Hogs Pudding. Of particular note were the staff and hotel management team - charming, friendly, and extremely accommodating. We will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As soon as we approached St Moritz, we knew that we were in for a treat.

This hotel is the perfect escape from working life, it has a real sense of calm in every area and every element feels special. Highlights for us were the relaxing bar area, spa facilities, fab breakfasts and a super wine list!

The location is great if you fancy being out in the fresh air and walking to areas such as Rock and Polzeath. We would thoroughly recommend the coastal walk to Rock, then hopping on-board the water taxi for some supper in Padstow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What an absolutely fabulous find. We were a little apprehensive about this hotel as I worried it might be a little overrun with families and too much like an anonymous resort, however we need not have worried. The hotel is moderate in scale however manages to provide a good range of services whilst maintaining an intimate service and welcoming environment.

I am an Art Deco fan and feared the hotels. Interpretation may ave been a little tacky - however whilst the building isn't Art Deco at all (apart from a couple of token nods to the style and colour) he hotel does seem to have captured the spirit of he seaside from the 1920s and 30s - fun, vibrancy and fantastic service.

The cowshed products and spa are beautiful and moderately priced. The restaurants are not glamorous, however have good quality local food and excellent service. Breakfast is particularly excellent with a great range of products.

We did stay in a ground floor suite which was fantastic and totally exceeded our expectations. Hey are in effect very large one bed roomed apartments with all amenities and a huge terrace. Fresh, clean, crisp, excellent beds - go on, treat ourself.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites are just as good as first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Didn't want to mark this fabulous hotel down as the staff and rooms were second to none. However, the cleanliness of the pool area was simply not up to scratch; dirty arms on the pool chairs and hair everywhere. Whilst we did stay on a brilliant deal with a 5 course tasting menu, both my wife and I felt that the chicken course was lacking in finesse; although the pudding was to die for. The hosting service, with all the local knowledge and lifts down to the ferry was simply brilliant and something that really made our stay. Would stay again, but might not use the pool and would check the menu offering before booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great views from the suites, loads of room to spread out / relax and if you've had a hideous week at work and don't fancy heading up to the restaurant for dinner, you can cook something quick and easy in the well equipped kitchen and sit on the sofa in your pants and dressing gown.
The bed was amazing, the best I've ever slept in in a hotel, it was like sleeping in a cloud. Liking soft beds, me and the wife were in heaven! A friend of mine hated it though as he found it far to soft. Both the main restaurant and the poolside restaurant are decent enough and seem to be popular with families. Good location for extended family gatherings.
Access to the coastal path is pretty straightforward, worth a walk to Polzeath. Padstow also pretty easy to get to via Rock.
Spa was good but pretty pricey so not sure I'd rush back to that bit. The only real shame is the whole surrounding area has been plagued by second home owners meaning that in winter the hotel is like an oasis in an abandoned village.

Room Tip: Go for a suite... in for a penny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Address: Trebetherick | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Wadebridge, Cornwall
St Moritz Wadebridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Moritz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.