We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hustyns - A CLC World Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hustyns - A CLC World Resort to your Saves list
Hustyns - A CLC World Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Breock Downs, Wadebridge PL27 7LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wadebridge
south wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were offered a bargain price for a 2 night stay here during the week staying for 2 nights during the week. We had filled in a questionnaire at Malaga airport and received a phone call last month promoting this special offer - how could we refuse? The only condition was to be available in the morning for a CLC presentation. The staff at reception were friendly and our room was very good, although I wouldn't rate the room in the hotel as five star - more 3/4. The room was spacious, clean and had a good sized bathroom. We stayed at Hustyns for an evening meal - a la carte was not available on a Monday evening which was disappointing so we opted for the hot buffet. Two courses cost £20, the main meal (gammon, veg, potatoes) was very good and the white chocolate cheesecake for dessert was also good too. On the second evening we opted to go coastal and experience fish & chips. The bar lacked atmostphere and to be honest it was very quiet in the dining area albeit "live music" being played which was a nice touch.
I was very disappointed wifi was not available in our hotel room and lack of mobile phone signal too. In fairness the hotel state wifi and mobile phone signals are available in the brasserie, but in this day and age I would have thought wifi should be available in all rooms - mobile phone signals depend on the operator.
We opted to have the "presentation" on the next day and this included a full Cornish breakfast. Again, buffet style and pretty good. Our representive Richard collected us from our hotel room and spent breakfast with us, and started the presentation. It was interesting and we went into it with an open mind, we were told by his manager Jason to have a look at the presentation and under no pressure either say yes or no and in all fairness it was delivered professionally but did take about 3 hours. We decided it wasn't for us as we are bargain hunters and didn't find it good value for money as flights would have to be booked extra on top of the monthly fee to CLC on a monthly basis. We left the presentation and enjoyed the rest of the day walking along the Cornish coast.
The location of Hustyns is way out - no local pub to walk, but you are away from it all, The lanes are narrow in places, just be a bit careful. It was an interesting stay, but not really for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    98
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
69
164
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hustyns is set in beautiful surroundings- once you negotiate the narrow country lanes to get there. Approach from Wadebridge, from where it is quite well signposted, not from the Bodmin direction or you will spend quite some time driving on narrow lanes to reach it. We were allocated a very comfortable, well appointed ensuite room with a balcony which overlooked the landscaped car park. The main drawback with the room was that the duvet was very thick- lovely for the winter but not for June- and the lowest temperature the air conditioning could be set at was 17°C so it was quite uncomfortable for sleeping. The other end of the corridor had quite a smell of chorine from the pool below so it would probably have been less pleasant in one of the rooms there. We only ate the continental breakfast in the restaurant, which was quite a walk from our room, as the meals were pricey. The food was nothing exceptional with no low fat spread on offer for toast (though I didn’t ask if it was available on request) and the porridge was not the best I have tasted. The service was quite good apart from one morning when our order for coffee was a long time arriving. The waiter did apologise profusely and gave us a generous discount. A couple we spoke to had eaten one evening meal in the restaurant and said that they thought the meal was not very good and poor value for money.

We were there for a four night promotional break through a finance company we had used for some home improvements. It quickly became apparent that most, if not all the other guests, were there on similar deals. A part of the arrangement we had a presentation about what CLC world has to offer. Some of these started with guests having a complimentary breakfast with a CLC rep as we saw half a dozen taking place each morning. Ours was an afternoon presentation which started at 2.30 with us being taken to the bar area for an introductory talk by, I assume, one of the sales managers. It is worth noting that we were told that they aimed to match what they had to offer with what we were looking for and that 3 in 10 people became CLC world members as it is not for everyone. A light buffet/ cream tea with our rep followed. He was one of the older reps and, it has to be said, not as pushy as anticipated from reading other people’s reviews. The conversation was obviously aimed at finding out as much as possible about us and our lifestyle when it came to holidays in particular. After that we were taken to the sales suite where our rep filled in a questionnaire about us and the kind of holidays we take and then he showed us on the computer what CLC world has to offer and told us the ways we would benefit a members. At this point there was no mention of the cost of becoming members, only about how much the holidays and breaks would cost once we were members with a huge emphasis on the savings we would make.There was so much information that it became a bit confusing to follow. We were taken to see one of holiday lodges, which was luxurious although I would be nervous about taking children there in case thy, and some of the grounds. When we returned to the sales suite the rep called the manager across to tell us something he could probably have told us himself- all part of the sales talk, I suspect. When the manager realised that he probably wasn’t going to get a sale, he asked in a slightly disparaging tone, why we were there so we explained about the offer we had received. In fairness, once we told them our budget and that their sort of holidays were not for us, both the manager and the rep, said that they didn’t really have anything to offer us and did not press us further. We shook hands and parted amicably. So we didn’t discover how much it would have cost to become a member. The whole proceedings had lasted two and a half hours and would have been, who knows how much, longer had we shown an interest in signing up. Go with a firm idea of what you are looking for and be prepared to say a firm “No thank you” as early as you can unless you are sure are interested in becoming a member. Otherwise you will spend several hours on the sales presentation.

If you are offered a promotional stay there, be aware, that for a four night break you only get two and a half days there by the time you check in at 4pm on the Monday and check out by 10am on Friday and half a day taken up with the sales presentation. You can stay on site to use the facilities after checking out, although we didn’t use any during any of our stay except the crazy golf so can’t comment on them. We did join in the quiz night on the Wednesday evening which was relaxing and not too taxing. Also be aware that Hustyns is in the middle of nowhere which is fine unless you decide to eat elsewhere in the evenings as we did. The best solution is to get a meal before you return in the evening or you spend a lot of time driving backwards and forwards.

Our stay was pleasant and, as we broke both the journeys with overnight stays on the way, worth the long drive to get there. The Eden project is well worth a visit. A drive up the coast taking in Polzeath where there is a good beach, Port Isaac, Tintagel and Boscastle are also worth doing. A word of warning- don’t take the narrow road to Port Isaac as you have to drive through the steep village streets to get out the other side, unless you just want to see the village and not stop as the parking seemed to be miles away from the quay. To see all the castle remains at Tintagel requires climbing a lot of steep, uneven steps as well as quite a long walk down from the village although there is a Landover service for which there is a charge.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor at front have balconies. Ask for a room well away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We are CLC members and have been for some years. We have visited Hustyns twice so far this year and have done so quite a few times since the mid 2000’s but have never submitted a review on the resort. When we visited back in March, I had left my camera equipment behind and it had been stored for me to reclaim during the most recent visit.
We arrived at 1pm and knowing that check-in is usually at 4pm my wife went to see if the Lodge may be ready any earlier and to see if we could reclaim my cameras beforehand. The young guy on the desk was ok but seemed to get somewhat flustered when asked about the cameras and seemed to say things he should only have been thinking... stating he could only do one thing at a time out loud a couple of times... When my wife enquired about if the Lodge may be ready earlier, it appeared too difficult and he went and spoke to another colleague who was very courteous and checked a list and informed us it was in fact ready to occupy at that time, excellent! The original guy then went to fetch the camera equipment and kindly brought it to the car for us.
We went straight to the lodge which I think is one of the older properties and whilst being very nice these have started to look a little shabby in places, but clean, roomy and comfortable none the less and would still rate as 4* accommodation. As usual with CLC we cannot fault the housekeeping and maintenance and the only thing I could say here is that the gardens in these lodges don't look as well maintained as they have done in years past but the site in general is, as always, quite spectacular.
We were as usual offered a complimentary breakfast and meet up with the marketing/sales rep and whilst it was nice to touch base again, the breakfast experience was far from the best... when we got to the breakfast buffet everything was empty apart from half a dozen anaemic sausages and half a medallion of black pudding and despite the promise that it was all on route there was enough time for a chat with the rep and for her to kindly go and collect us some orange juices and make toast and take it all to the table and return back before the first items started to arrive and the queue by now was about 10 people long including folk who had part breakfasts and those of us who had none... Eventually most things showed up and we were able to pick our breakfast items but alas I arrived at the baked bean pot to find the last portion taken, thus as folks before me had done I stood and waited with my partially breakfasted plate for a while but eventually gave up following a minor altercation with some interfering marketing person who went by the name of Karen, which I will not go into here, but I was quite annoyed to say the least, but as it was complimentary I wrote it off to experience but would think twice about breakfasting at Hustyns again in the future. Quality of what I had was average at best. I would also like to say that our sales rep Stella was perfectly lovely.
As we know the locality and surrounding area well, we tend to go off resort mostly, however, one afternoon we decided to pay the Brasserie a visit on site as we fancied a Cream Tea, when we arrived there was just one other couple in there and they were just about to leave. there was a pleasant young guy behind the counter and when my wife enquired about a Cream Tea the poor chap didn't know what a Cream Tea was, when we and the other couple explained he then had to go off and check... he came back and stated they did, we had then had time to look at the menu and asked what the soup of the day was? Again he went to ask. We decided to have the soup which was a lovely homemade tomato and followed that with a Cream Tea... it transpired that it was in fact the waiters first day on his own... at least he was pleasant and attentive and the food was of good quality.
We feel that generally Hustyns is a really nice resort of the quality we would expect from CLC, despite the Lodge being in line for a refurb. However, we feel that the resort is let down by some of the staff it seems they all do a job but that some do a much better job than others and the realisation that how they deal with clients can have a big effect on the holiday experience. Our experience of this resort over the last few years has always been positive in general but over the past few visits it seems like the front of house staff are either very inexperienced or just not up to the task.

Room Tip: Hotel Rooms are usually well appointed. Lodges are usually excellent but I think Lodges 4 - 8 may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Hustyns - A CLC World Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always welcome feedback from all our guests, and it is good to hear from members like yourselves who have been regular visitors. Our lodges are maintained to a high standard but do of course benefit from our ongoing renovation and refurbishment programme. I have passed on your kind comments to our housekeeping and maintenance team and can assure you that the gardeners work hard to keep our grounds looking at their best but they have been a little hindered this year by some inclement unseasonal weather! I was glad to see that you enjoyed your cream tea which features our splendid home made scones and locally produced clotted cream, and noted your comments about breakfast and apologise for an experience that was not that generally enjoyed by our guests, as I am sure you will have seen on previous visits. Our staff often receive much appreciated compliments for their friendliness and helpfulness - new and inexperienced members of the team are inevitably on a learning curve, and we aim to help them reach the high standards met by longer serving staff as speedily as we can.
Resort Manager, Hustyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife & i spent a week here on a promotion which involved one sales session which tends to take most of the day. We had a lovely room and an excellent bathroom with every conceivable extra. The main courses in the evening meals were very well done but starters a bit unimaginative..Staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful and polite. An interesting estate with some gorgeous cottages. We are not "spa" people so I can not comment on these but the gym for those that use such places seemed well equipped and the pool looked very attractive.Finding your way around however through a maze of corridors was a real challenge. You also need nerves of steel to drive on some of those narrow back roads to get to the complex.

Room Tip: go on a promotion to get best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent 3 night here - beautiful hotel room, great facilities, gym and pool were best we have had at a resort. Restaurant and bar, entertainment so if really don't want to go out in evening don't have too.

Only downside is that resort is out in middle of nowhere so have to drive. We like to walk out in evenings but not possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Finding the hotel was straight forward despite lots of narrow country lanes.
Room was small and adequate - not 4 star. Bed was big and comfortable
Extractor for shower didn't work all weekend but shower was excellent.
I pity some of the folks in rooms above the pool as the smell of chlorine on the landing was so strong
We didn't use any of the facilities - I'm not sure why a hotel in an area where there is so much to see and do needs so many facilities. Certainly not worth paying for.
We used the balcony once but as our neighbours on both sides were sitting smoking on their balconies this was short lived!
First night welcome evening - free 'bubbles' was nice. Interesting information about the area, some of which we already knew. I wish someone would have shut the child up who kept trying to talk over Leanne/Lauren about children's activities.
We were recommended an excellent fish restaurant at Polkerris which the hotel booked for us - best thing they did!
Meal on the first night - buffet - was rubbish - certainly not what we expected having seen the A La Carte menu on the website. Great to have a pianist/singer but again spoilt by children running around. We didn't stop in for dinner to try again.
Breakfasts were ok - have had much better. Fried eggs had been sitting so long they were hard. There was no skimmed milk. Toaster warmed the bread rather than toasted it but a big sign warned you not to 'double' toast! Tea on first morning was made with luke warm water - disgusting. They did better the following mornings when this was pointed out.
As for presentation - on the calls to us at home (which were frequent as clc kept ringing to check they had all our details) we were told we would have a selection of times to choose from - either breakfast or afternoon. I specifically requested breakfast so we would then be able to get on with our day. When we got the call to arrange it was 3pm on Saturday afternoon - couldn't be a worse time as we went out, had to clock watch to get back on time then missed the best part of the day.
Our rep came to collect us from our room - I felt he should have knocked and then waited at the door for us to come out once we had answered - instead he walked right in - this felt like an invasion of my personal space for the weekend.
We asked how long the presentation would take and were told 90 mins - please beware that the 90 mins starts when you sit downstairs in the presentation and that the buffet lunch or breakfast is not part of the 90 mins - I advise you all to talk little, eat fast and then tell them to get on with it!
We sat through the presentation and at the end of it I had to ask - so what do we get for the best part of 5k for a 3 year trial! It really wasn't clear.
Most of the products on offer were large hotels/complexs and not what I would choose for relaxation. The idea is that you 'buy' your holiday rather than 'rent' accomodation - just a play on words.
I'm sure clc would suit some folk but definataley not for me - altough we had committed to sit through the session (I'm not sure what would have happened if we hadn't) the reps did graciously accepted defeat and didn't push the point once they knew they weren't going to get anywhere with us!
I would love to know how many people actually opt in

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Hustyns - A CLC World Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay at Hustyns. Our 4 star hotel status is reviewed annually by Visit Britain and we have proudly achieved the recognised industry standard in each of the last 6 years. Cornwall does have a huge appeal for visitors, and our guests regularly give us very positive feedback about how the hotel’s excellent facilities have made their stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. At our family-friendly resort, children can enjoy the lovely premises and rural surroundings in safety, which means that parents can relax. I was surprised that your Representative entered your room without the courtesy of knocking and I have addressed this with the Sales Manager. We make our promotional presentations as interesting and informative as possible, which does take up some time, and we do our best to accommodate preferred appointment times. On Mondays and Fridays - our busy changeover days - it is our normal, published practice to serve dinner buffet-style, which is popular with arriving guests. I was pleased to see that your breakfast experience improved during your stay. Our members take holidays at prices that compare very favourably with traditional packages and, with 30 years’ experience of arranging some 325,000 holidays a year, we are proud of our success, while recognising that our way of holidaying is not for everyone. We wish you well for your future travels.
Resort Manager, Hustyns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just stayed at Hustyns for a long weekend. Although we are leaving Club La Costa at the end of this year, the resort was very relaxing and the staff couldn't do enough to help. The only drawback is its location - if you don't like driving on country roads then this isn't the place for you but other than that, peace and quiet in a luxurious surrounding.

Room Tip: We had a lodge and the place couldn't have been better - clean and tidy, very high spec for furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hustyns - A CLC World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hustyns - A CLC World Resort

Address: St Breock Downs, Wadebridge PL27 7LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hustyns - A CLC World Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by 100 acres of beautifully landscaped private gardens and woodlands, Hustyns luxury country hotel enjoys panoramic views over North Cornwall’s legendary Bodmin Moor. Guests are encouraged to treat the resort as their private haven of tranquillity, far from the fastmoving modern world. To help you relax, the well-equipped health and beauty spa offers an indoor swimming pool and, for guests over 16 years old, a gymnasium, spa baths, steam room and sauna, with beauty therapists on hand to pamper your worries away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hustyns - A CLC World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hustyns Hotel Wadebridge
Hustyns - A CLC World Resort Wadebridge, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hustyns - A CLC World Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.