We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best bnb stays we've had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elba Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elba Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Elba Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Off crossroads in Whitecross | Whitecross, Wadebridge PL27 7JB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discount 3 nights or more
Ranked #2 of 23 Wadebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best bnb stays we've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We loved our stay at Elba bnb. Friendly and warm welcome from Chris, who makes the best Cornish breakfast (all local prouduce or made herself!). The Estuary Room was perfect, so comfortable and clean, and everything you need to make it as relaxing as possible. Not to mention the stunning views. Great location to get to anywhere in Cornwall.

Couldn't recommend this place enough! Hopefully we'll be back soon ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hi Liz - A belated thanks for your review of Elba. I don't know what happened to my first response - I've queried it with Trip Advisor!
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay with us which was apparent from your positive feedback :-)
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I spent a delightful 2 days with Chris and Ken at their bed and breakfast. The room was lovely, spotless and they had thought of every little extra to make life on the road comfortable. Best of all Chris is a wonderful cook, she accommodated our vegan life style and even experimented making us blueberry muffins and in the morning vegan pancakes which she had never made before. We were impressed with her creativity and thoughtfulness. If we ever visit Cornwall again, we will be sure to return to their bed and breakfast

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Catherine - Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and were appreciative of our facilities. I relished the challenge of cooking to suit your vegan lifestyle and also ensuring you had dairy free alternatives to enjoy. The vegan pancakes were a first for me and I was grateful for the little tips you were happy to share. The next time we have guests following a vegan diet I shall again offer pancakes. Practice makes perfect!
It is a compliment to hear you would stay with us again if you return to Cornwall. It was a shame the winds were so strong at the time of your walking visit when just a day or two later it was calm and sunny with hardly a cloud.
Ken and I admired your energy and sincerely hope you continue to get the best out of walking through various regions of the UK.
Very best wishes and thank you again. Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at Elba and what a great place. Room bright and tastefully furnished. Great sleep in such a comfortable bed. Breakfast amazing with freshly prepared fruit as well as cooked available. Great location for touring the area. Chris a very attentive hostess and nothing too much trouble.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Liz, thank you so much for your review, we are really pleased you had a comfortable stay and everything was to your liking. The weather was a real bonus and you took advantage walking different parts of the Camel Trail. We hope next time you feel the need to have a relaxing break that you consider staying with us at Elba. We look forward to meeting you again. Kind regards
Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Elba B&B for one night. I was attending a wedding at The Royal Cornwall Showground and the Elba is perfectly placed. Chris and Ken are perfect hosts (even giving me a lift to the Church for the wedding ceremony!) and made me feel very welcome. I stayed in the Edmonton but all three rooms are beautifully set up. The bed was very comfortable and the ensuite has a lovely big shower (so often a let down in lesser B&B's). The breakfast was amazing, all you can expect from a quality B&B and then some: fresh fruit salad, choice of cereals, the best full English breakfast I've ever had with local sausages and bacon, and toast with homemade marmalade, OJ and tea! If I cannot find an excuse to comeback, then I will be recommending Chris and Ken's hospitality to all!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Tom - it was a pleasure to meet you last weekend, we were pleased the weather was on your side for the Wedding. It makes us happy to know that our guests are having a good experience of their visit to North Cornwall. Thank you so much for the review you have written about Elba. We really do appreciate you finding time to think about your stay to provide feedback for us and to benefit future visitors considering where they might stay.
We look forward to meeting you and your wife at some time in the near future.
Very best wishes Chris and Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Once again the Elba experience with Chris and Ken was perfect. All 3 of their rooms have now been refurbished and to a very high standard. We stayed in the Garden Room this time, the last (but not least) to undergo the Chris and Ken touch. So much thought went into making our stay comfortable and restful. Our room was bright and spacious, spotlessly clean and breakfast is a feast. Fresh, locally sourced and plentiful!
Our next visit is alreayd planned and we can't wait.
Thank you Chris & Ken.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are always appreciative of guests' direct feedback when visiting and also of their review in a public forum such as Trip Advisor. How lovely that you have thought 'once again' to leave a review about Elba.
We are very touched that you continue to visit Elba on a regular basis for your mini breaks. We look forward to your visits and truly value your comments as we continue to make improvements.
Very best wishes to you both. Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a lovely short stay at this B&B! The owner is very welcoming and the rooms are nicely furnished and very clean! The breakfast started with a fresh fruit salad which tasted delicious and fresh flowers were in the room and on the breakfasttable!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you were pleased it fitted your plans for a whirlwind visit to this part of Cornwall. You were certainly packing in a lot of sightseeing. Our aim is to ensure our guests are comfortable and leave with a smile on their face as you and your friend did. Have fun with your future weekends away in the South West of England. Thank you for finding time to post a review. Very best wishes, Chris and Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Colleages had booked us into the Elba and we couldn't have been more pleased. We were met by a warm welcome and plenty of information. Our en-suite room was delightful, clean and smart with little added extras to make us feel at home. Breakfast was second to none, so much choice and nothing was too much trouble. We only stayed for the one night but would have happily stayed longer. If we are back in Cornwall at any time, this would certainly be our first choice to stay. Thanks Chris & Ken - as they say 'you're worth it'!!

Room Tip: No need to worry about which room to choose, all are comfortable and well-equipped and the area is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
What a lovely review Lesley, it is very much appreciated. When doing the refurbishment we tried to consider everything a prospective guest may wish for. I'm sure your review will be helpful to anyone considering a stay at Elba.
We would have been delighted if you could have stayed longer however we know that your circumstances didn't allow. We certainly hope you may be able to return at some point in the future.
Thank you for posting the review and so promptly. Very best wishes to you both.
Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elba Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Bed & Breakfast

Address: Off crossroads in Whitecross | Whitecross, Wadebridge PL27 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elba Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elba B&B has 3 spacious guest bedrooms ALL recently refurbished. Free off road parking and generous breakfasts. Elba, with its stunning views, is situated in a tranquil area near to the Royal Cornwall Showground on the outskirts of Wadebridge. The Camel Trail is a short walk from Elba leading to Padstow or Wadebridge and Bodmin. The nearby beautiful sandy beaches can be easily reached by car or bus. Elba B&B is in an ideal location for touring Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elba Bed & Breakfast Wadebridge, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elba Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.