We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'An absolute GEM' due to the proprietors.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elba Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elba Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Elba Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Off crossroads in Whitecross | Whitecross, Wadebridge PL27 7JB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Wadebridge B&B and Inns
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'An absolute GEM' due to the proprietors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My best friend and myself had planned a girls night away. Elba had been recommend and what a treat. We arrived late afternoon and where both more than delighted with the very warm and home from home welcoming by the most enthusiastic hosts Chris and Ken. The cleanliness of the twin room we had was 5* there was everything you could ever possibly want, and as for the beds and linen it could only be described as top notch. Well breakfast had only one fault! I just could not finish it, fresh fruit on arrival followed by a selection of cereals and juices. The fry breakfast was outstanding.
The whole experience was amazing and if they will has us we will return as soon as can. Great thanks to Chris and Ken such fabulous hosts and friends.

Room Tip: Any they are all amazingly presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks for finding the time to post a review about Elba B&B, when you have such a busy life. We're glad you had a good break and were comfortable in the Edmonton twin room which was new for this year. Our aim is to create a homely environment for guests as a hotel can be impersonal. Sometimes our breakfasts can be filling due to the quality of our produce which is rich and satisfying. On a positive note - you don't need much during the day, perhaps a very light snack.
You are certainly welcome to return for a further visit, you have our contact details to check availability. Very best wishes to you both. Regards Chris and Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
40
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After having a few b&bs to choose from we are so pleased we chose Elba. We could not have received more friendly and welcoming service from Ken and Chris. The room (the Estuary) was so clean, cosy and comfortable that we did not want to leave. A really homey feel to a contemporary and up to date room. Breakfast was delicious AND local-perfect combination! Without a doubt we will be staying here again. Thanks to Chris and Ken for making our visit to my sister's neck of the woods so very luxurious and comfy! Lee & Lindsey

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Lee and Lindsey - what an unexpected surprise to receive your appreciative review of Elba B&B so soon. Thank you very much for your comments [we hope the title of the breakfast picture should read 'scrummy' :-) ] We are pleased you chose to stay with us, we thought of you on Sunday and hoped you succeeded in your spur of the moment 10k run, you certainly had lovely weather, possibly too warm. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Cornwall and look forward to welcoming you again. Regards Chris and Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

20/09/2013

Just returned home after a very pleasant three day stay at Elba with Ken ans Chris ,we picked this place after seeing such good reports from tripadvisor and we were not disappointed in any way, all comments were spot on..the most friendly people we have met for a long while .the place was spotlessly clean with every thing you would need in your spacious room (internet reception was so good which was another bonus. We will certainly hope to stay there again and would recommend this to all our friends and thanks again Chris and Ken for making this a very enjoyable stay.
PAT & TERRY

Room Tip: all rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Pat and Terry, thank you for your review of Elba. We are glad you felt comfortable in the Garden room and were able to stay in touch with friends and family through the internet connection. We are aiming to refurbish that guest room this winter so you will notice the difference if you are able to visit again in the future. Best wishes to you both. Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and we wish it could of been for longer, Chris @ Ken were so welcoming, nothing was to much trouble for them. The rooms were a delight. absolutely perfect with a lovely comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. The breakfasts were lovely and plentiful and all the bread and preserves were homemade, just delicious.What with the views over Padstow and surrounding countryside this was just a perfect 4 night break and we are already looking forward to going again.
Chris and Ian.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.The Edmonton room is twin. the other rooms are doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Chris and Ian, thank you for posting your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Estuary room, one of our refurbished rooms, and we look forward to seeing you again at Elba. Kind regards, Chris and Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Just had a long weekend with Ken & Chris in their lovely B&B and what a weekend.
We stayed in their Estuary room which was finished to perfection...comfy bed, lovely bathroom and wonderful views down to Padstow & Rock.
Breakfast was just as lovely with local produce and homemade delights.
We'll be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Vicki - thanks for your review of Elba B&B. We were so pleased you made the journey down to Cornwall to stay with us for a few days/nights. You travelled to the furthest point of Land's End, which you did quite easily, and took some smashing pictures of views, rocks, sea and more . Thank you for your seal of approval of our rooms and location, we hope it won't be too long before we see you down this way again to carry on exploring :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Chris was so welcoming and helpful even making us tea and cake when we arrived. The view from our room was great looking down the hills and fields to the sea. It was really peaceful, away from any noise and other people. The room itself was perfect; a good size with a comfortable big bed, modern bathroom and a good TV. Breakfast each day was delicious with lots to eat and locally sourced food that was amazing. There was plenty of parking out the front and a lovely garden out the back to spend time in. It is about a twenty five minute walk to the centre of town which was no problem and we walked in most nights to try out all the great restaurants. Tesco is also very close by which is handy for picking up a picnic before heading out for the day. I will definitely be staying here again next time I come to Cornwall and would recommend Elba to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you Jonathan for your review of Elba B&B and Wadebridge which is growing with lovely places to eat and things to do. We are so glad you were fortunate with the weather and able to take advantage by going to the beach, walking and cycling. You certainly packed a lot in to your stay with us. We hope you returned home refreshed and have made progress with your wedding plans. We are pleased you intend to return to us in Cornwall in the future. Have a wonderful Wedding Day. Kind regards Chris and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent our first two nights in England here at Elba B&B. What a fabulous way to begin our trip. We are from USA Missouri, and our friends we were meeting were from Colo Vale, Australia. Everything was wonderful. The suggested Pub-a short walk from the B&B- was great. A perfect start to an awesome vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conley_elba, Owner at Elba Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Theresa Thank you very much of thinking of us on your return home. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post a review about Elba B&B. We are glad the start of your BIG trip was memorable through staying with us. The lovely poppy you kindly gave us from the Eden Project was a delight to watch grow and I have transferred it to the garden, hopefully it will flower again next year. Thank you again for your review. Very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elba Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Bed & Breakfast

Address: Off crossroads in Whitecross | Whitecross, Wadebridge PL27 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elba Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elba B&B has 3 spacious guest bedrooms ALL recently refurbished. Free off road parking and generous breakfasts. Elba, with its stunning views, is situated in a tranquil area near to the Royal Cornwall Showground on the outskirts of Wadebridge. The Camel Trail is a short walk from Elba leading to Padstow or Wadebridge and Bodmin. The nearby beautiful sandy beaches can be easily reached by car or bus. Elba B&B is in an ideal location for touring Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elba Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Bed & Breakfast Wadebridge, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elba Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.