We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely bike ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camel Trail Cycle Hire

Camel Trail Cycle Hire
Eddystone Road, Wadebridge PL27 7AL, England
+44 1208 814104
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 14-mile bike trail that follows the path of a deserted railway between Bodmin and Padstow.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A lovely bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We hired our bikes from Padstow Cycles - £14.00 for the day. We chose a perfect sunny day and left early at 9 am before the hoards arrived. We only cycled the first leg - 5 1/2 miles from Padstow to Wadebridge, the views are stunning across the estuary so remember to take your camera! The cycleway is completely flat and it's an easy cycle through to Wadebridge.

We brunched in Wadebridge before the cycle home, by which time the path was getting quite busy.

Well worth doing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    43
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As others have advised the route is as long as you want to go. The first section for me is the best with open estuary views. If the weather is good, nowhere better to be. I hired a bike as did not want to lug mine but although at around £12 both hire shops only had cheap well used brands so be warned. Stick the car on Padstow car park early for about £6 for the day and stop at the cafe in the woods for lunch is a low priced excellent day out. The route is not quite flat but fairly easy going. Quite a few places en route to hire or join so again flex to suit your needs.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire England
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lovely flat walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had restricted time so couldn't walk all the way to Wadebridge and back but greatly enjoyed what we did (to the slate mine spoils). Great for accessibility but great views for all to enjoy too. Plenty of benches to sit and relax en route and even an impromptu cafe halfway along.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice simple ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The trail is in two main sections with a 3rd on the bodmin half you can go from bodmin through to padstow via wadebridge,, or you can start at wadebridge..

The wadebride to padstow is more scenic.. the entire trail is flat and easy to ride for the entire family with plenty of room.. it's often busy and well used but with a wide path this is no problem.both padstow and wadebridge are lovely towns to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Camel Trail Cycle Hire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We hired a couple of bicycles from the Camel Trail Cycle Hire, located opposite Lidl, at the Wadebridge end of the line. The staff there were very helpful and polite. They offer a breakdown service, where a member of staff will cycle out to you to fix any repair to insure you can continue your ride. The free parking for those hiring is a very welcome added bonus!
Will most definitely be visiting again and recommending to my friends. I was made to feel very welcome.
Although the trail itself only took about and hour - with stops! The day can be spent looking around Padstow, having lunch or just sitting on the harbour. It's a stress free day with help from the cycle hire whenever you need it - all you have to do is call. The other thing to know is that they also have a specially designed disabled bicycle which means everyone can cycle the trail - fantastic!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camel Trail Cycle Hire also viewed

Wadebridge, Cornwall
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 

Been to Camel Trail Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camel Trail Cycle Hire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.