We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Good Food and Service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maltsters

The Maltsters
Chapel Amble, Wadebridge PL27 6EU, England
+44 1208 812473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in Wadebridge
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Maltsters Arms is a local friendly village pub, located in Chapel Amble near Wadebridge in the heart of Cornwall. This traditional pub is run by five locals who clubbed together and bought the pub. Two of the partners are chefs and they prepare and cook all of the food fresh to order. In the bar we serve a full selection of draught beers, wines, real ales and spirits for your personal enjoyment along with soft drinks for non-drinkers, drivers. With the pubs fantastic atmosphere and friendly staff this make the Maltsters Arms a pub where every one wants to spend the day. Situated on the premises of the pub is a beautiful beer garden where you can sit and relax while having a refreshing drink during the warm summer months. With disabled facilities and a car park situated on the grounds of the pub we tend to the needs of all our customers. The pub serves an extensive menu including light lunches ( our famous mussels )and also a dinner menu including the likes of tender local duck and lamb ,plenty of fresh seafood or just a giant 8oz beef burger with our own tomato chutney. This warm and friendly pub is the perfect place for a night out .If you fancy a carvery on Sunday ( four meats) please make a booking as it is always very busy.We look forward to seeing you soon.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Good Food and Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Traditional pub with bags of character good food and some well kept real ales as well.Reasonably priced. The service was friendly and the Landlady welcoming.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    34
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Gastro-Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Very warm welcome with an excellent choice of food on the menu, the service was outstanding, the food was delicious and reasonably priced. There are not many places you will find in this area where all these apply. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wrong table ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Having visited earlier in the day I enquired if it was necessary to book. I was informed it would be better to book as I would then be able to have a better table - in the main restaurant and by the fire
I arrived on time and found that the table I had booked was occupied and was offered in my opinion an inferior table out of the main restaurant.
Moral -- do not believe that you have the table booked.
Of course I immediately left in disgust.
Why should a pub rest on its laurels???
Their loss.
.






Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovley restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Very good food,fantastic staff,free cava what more can you ask for? If you are in the area, it is well worth a visit a couple of good beers and ciders and very child freindly

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and good cider”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Stayed opposite and had a couple of excellent meals during the week. Can especially recommend the Belly Pork with a nice crisp top. The mussels tasted fresh in a good liquor. Oh and by the way, the "Old Rosie" (7.2%) cider was not half bad.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maltsters also viewed

 

Been to The Maltsters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maltsters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.