We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, not as good as the old days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gun

The Gun
Gun Hill | Near Horam, Heathfield TN21 0JU, England
01825 872361
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Heathfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: When walking on the Wealden Way we recommend taking the time to discover The Gun, an atmospheric pub-restaurant on the outskirts of Heathfield, East Sussex. This fifteenth century pub is full of period charm and countryside comfort, the interior carefully decorated to create light and space, bringing a touch of the modern to ancient bare bricks, wood panelling and stripped back flooring with simple, elegant but robust furnishings. An extensive landscaped garden is perfect for families, providing play equipment for children while maintaining the peace and quiet of a true country retreat. At The Gun���s bar, you���ll find all manner of well kept real ales as well as a wide selection of quality wines, while the food menu is celebrated locally for its great pies, seasonal game dishes and continental specialties, all created using locally sourced, fresh produce. Whether a snowy winters day or a hot summer evening, The Gun has a perfect atmosphere to suit, indoors or out, for dinner or just a few drinks and a bite to eat.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Sorry, not as good as the old days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A group of us went from work on Wednesday. Nice atmosphere, nice people, very helpful and the service was good. I had the Haddock in beer batter with mushy peas and chips. Several ha thehips nd were al of the same opinion. Frozen chips! Sorry, but they just did not taste home made. Purely on the chips it gets a 3 star rating. In the old days and I am going back a few years, they did the most amazing chips, and a beautiful lamb roemary and apricot pie! Maybe I'm getting old, but bring back the ol style menu and real chips.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, Events at The Gun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Diner,

Thank you for your comments & shame about the chips...but thank you for highlighting this to us, so we can look to improve it.

We hope to see you soon,

Kind regards

Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    66
    26
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pub/dining experience in East Sussex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Today was my 5th or 6th visit to The Gun in the past 12 months - for business and for pleasure - and it has never disappointed - in fact, it just gets better and better! The kitchen is run by the very professional head chef, Istavan Kis, and the menu choice is eclectic, local and excellent. My guests for lunch today choose a special of the day - rack of lamb, (cooked pink as requested) on an artichoke puree with parmentier potatoes and green beans. (£17) Delicious! I opted for the famous Gun Sussex Smokie (£10.90) and it was equally delicious! For pudding (£6), we tasted the sticky toffee one, the Callestick Cornish farm fruit sorbets and the Apple Crumble - all fabulous! The restaurant service staff, led by the highly attentive GM, Gabor Laszlo, were accommodating and attentive, eager to please and happy to serve. As this is beautiful walking country, our labrador accompanied us and was made as welcome as we were! I'm looking forward already to my next visit. TIP: check out their website for occasional special deals!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, Events at The Gun, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Visitor,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoy the pub so much and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

With kind regards

Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Sussex
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the group, maybe not as good as some of the others...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Gun at Gun Hill is a pub/come restaurant. It is one of the Elite group including 4 others in Kent & Sussex.

This one does not seem as well run as the others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, Events at The Gun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Elite Pub visitor,

Thank you for your comments and I have noticed you have visited a few of our pubs. We always look to improve our standards and we appreciate your feedback.

Regards

Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

All very good food etc etc but trying to pay was a bit of a problem ,but they where all very busy will return soon

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, Events at The Gun, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Diner,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and I am glad you enjoyed our company, and hope you will forgive us we kept you waiting with the payment, something we might look into...

See you soon at the Gun,

Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing food in a pub that thinks it's a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice pub in a lovely rural setting, log fire, cosy and welcoming staff - so good first impressions. The menu also looked good with a few different options than this sort of gastropub would normally offer. However overall the food disappointed which was a shame as everything else was good, but obviously the food is pivotal to a family lunch out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, Events at The Gun, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Diner,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sorry we somehow fail to impress with the food served on that day. I would very much like to perhaps get some more details about the food . We always strive to improve our standards your commenst are very much valued.

Should you wish to e mail me, my adress is events@elitepubs.com

Many thanks

Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gun also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Warbleton, Heathfield
 

Been to The Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.