We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Homey and perfect for the costs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blenheim House Hotel

Blenheim House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blenheim House Hotel
Save
You added Blenheim House Hotel to your Saves list
14 Westgate, North Berwick EH39 4AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Berwick
Southern Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Homey and perfect for the costs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

This is the best place to stay in North Berwick hands down. The price, the quality, the bar, the breakfast and the location make it a great bargain for the area. I've stayed at the Marine before and its nice - but the location of the Blenheim House makes it the best. Milt and Ailsa are very friendly and - well - i'm going back next year!! and taking 7 others with me.

  • Liked — location and friendliness of owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Stayed for one night on the first night of long golf trip. Definitely at the low end of accomodations as far as price and quality were concerned. Not too bad but my group would have all paid the extra $80USD to be back at the Marine where we stayed last year. Nice people, fine for one night but has seen better days.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Quality of room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Great little town. Stayed here one night before we played Muirfield, just down the road. 4 of us in 2 rooms. Room #7 was nice. Lovely bay window with view of the golf course and the sea. #10 was weird. Bathroom was in the closet (literally) and the toilet seat fell off in my hand when lifting it. We moved. # 6 was ok. Better bathroom. All in all, dated and in need of renovation, but ok for one night. Furniture outdated, mismatched a bit worn, but couldn't argue about cleanliness. Seemed fine.

Town was delightful, and the walk along the golf course and beach was very nice. Wouldn't mind spending more time in North Berwick. Would make a very nice spot to stay and explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

This hotel was chosen more or less at random based on price and availability. We had no prior expectations that this would be anything other than a bed for the night and as such we were more than happy with our choice.

Some of the rooms were a little tired-looking, but were clean (athough a vacuum cleaner that gets into the corners wouldn't be a bad idea) with all the basic amenities. The breakfast was wholesome and filling, with the typical choice of full breakfast, kippers, juice and cereals etc., and the bar stayed open to residents for as long as needed.

To be clear, this was 8 guys out for a golf weekend and so our needs were quite simple. The location was ideal for North Berwick Golf Club, a couple of minutes walk from the back gate to the first tee, and being on the High Street meant that there were pubs and restaurants (none fancy) within 200 yards of the front door. This is a picturesque part of the country and the view over the bay from the rooms at the back of the hotel was magnificent.

The Blenheim House made a good base for our trip and would also suit walkers, bird watchers and others who want a step up from a B&B but don't require a full range of hotel services.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Variable room cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blenheim House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim House Hotel

Address: 14 Westgate, North Berwick EH39 4AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Berwick
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel North Berwick
Blenheim House Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blenheim House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.