We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out to isle of May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Seabird Centre

Scottish Seabird Centre
The Harbour, North Berwick EH39 4SS, Scotland
+44 1620 890202
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Scottish Seabird Centre is a five-star visitor attraction with an award-winning Discovery Centre, set in a stunning location overlooking the sea and sandy beaches of North Berwick, East Lothian. A world-leader in remote wildlife viewing, the Seabird Centre has solar powered cameras on the Firth of Forth islands - these are controlled by visitors to the Discovery Centre, who can zoom in on amazing wildlife without disturbing it in any way. There's the chance to see puffins, gannets, seals and more - there is different wildlife to see throughout the year and at different stages of the breeding season. There are seasonal boat trips - with a range of different types on offer - from Easter until October. There are trips to the Bass Rock, which is home to 150,000 gannets at the peak of the breeding season; Craigleith, which is the focus of the Centre's SOS Puffin project; and the Isle of May National Nature Reserve. Open all year, the Centre offers something for everyone with a Wildlife Theatre, Kids' Zone and Kids' Corner, Scope Deck plus exhibitions and events. There is an excellent gift shop and the Seabird Cafe features the only seaside sun deck in East Lothian.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely day out to isle of May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We pre-booked a trip to isle of may on seabird boat trip and spent 2 beautiful hours on isle of may seeing the puffins & garnets on the island. Afterwards we went to the seabird discovery centre which was lovely for young children. And had a drink and a cake in the cafe, all the staff were very attentive and polite, I would recommend a boat trip for everyone but advise pre-booked to avoid disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffin2000, Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review Charlotte. It sounds like you had the perfect day out with us. Please do come back soon, as there's plenty to see with the gannets out on Bass Rock, and the seals arriving later in the year. We recently spotted a pod of bottle-nosed dolphins who had come down all the way from the Moray Firth, so you never know what wildlife you might spot in North Berwick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    89
    33
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Boat Tour to Bass Rock”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I thought it would be nice to take a tour from the harbour to Bass Rock, we saw that the tour with the seabird centre boat left a little sooner than the family owned Sula trip, so we asked the young lady outside how much it was etc. she informed us that we would not only have to pay £16 each but also pay an additional £7.50 for our two year old! He who would be sitting on our laps! I then learnt that they charge from 12 months old! Ludicrous! How do they expect to attract families during a recession! We waited a little longer and had an amazing time on the beautiful wooden Sula.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffin2000, Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many thanks for your valuable comments on the pricing of our Seabird Cruises. We appreciate your feedback. As a result of your useful comments, we have changed our pricing policy for children on our Seabird Cruises with immediate effect, bringing it into line with our Discovery Centre where all children under three go free. A visit to the Discovery Centre and a trip on our new Seabird Cruise is a great day out for all ages, representing great value for money as well as supporting our work as an education and conservation charity. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderfull Gannets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Incredible trip on Bass Rock!
If you love gannets and birds, don't miss to go on the island.
It is incredible wonderfull.
Be sure to book in advance the trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffin2000, Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for the five star review. The Bass Rock and its colony of gannets is truly an amazing sight, seen both via our interactive cameras within the Centre and on the one of our popular boat trips. Good tip on the advance booking, as spaces tend to go fast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I went to the seabird centre to meet a friend . We sat on the decked area as it was such a beautiful day. With beautiful views of the bass rock what more could you want. We had a cherry scone and a drink. The scone was amazing!! I'm not much of a scone person but I will def be back for more. Staff very attentive and always tidying up the decked area for the next customer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffin2000, Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on our Seabird Café. We really do pride ourselves on the quality of the catering and service, and our use of fresh local produce. And as you say, our decking must offer one of the finest views you can find anywhere in Scotland. Hope you can come back soon and enjoy our other facilities - our shop, interactive cameras and boat trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great trip around the Bass Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I took the kids (7 and 5) on the new Seabird Cruise out of North Berwick harbour. Brand new boat, comfortable seats, plenty to see, great commentary (enough but not too much info). Captain Aston welcomed everyone on board, kids loved seeing the puffins, seals and the caves. Great day out, would thoroughly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffin2000, Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your great feedback on the boat trips. We introduced the catamaran earlier this year and it's proved a great hit with families. Great to hear you had such a fantastic time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish Seabird Centre also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
Dirleton, North Berwick
 

Been to Scottish Seabird Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Seabird Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.