We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

My husband and I are members of the gym at the Marine, we are always welcomed like friends and the staff are always very helpful. We have made use of the spa on many occasions and the special offers are real value. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    357
    212
    81
    27
See reviews for
196
619
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We would like to thank you for the continued excellent and friendly service we received when we stayed at your hotel last month.

We have been coming to the Marine on an annual basis for the last six or seven years ( as you are probably aware )and have been looked after as a family tremendously which is a credit to yourself and your staff .

A special thank you to John Mc Moorland who has been most helpful and also managed to re book us in to your hotel for the following year each time we have stayed and look forward to next year again.



Thank You and best wishes for the rest of the year

Alisdair

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel 18-22 May 2009 to celebrate my birthday

Our room was available at 2 pm as promised in the hotel blurb. We had asked for a room on a high floor and were given a family room on the 3rd floor with a lovely sea view. It had a bathroom with a separate shower, a bedroom and a little sitting room with a double sofa bed and winged armchair. Perfect so far. Well not quite - it was so hot! We switched off the radiators and opened the windows, still too hot!

We went to reception explained the problem. The receptionist was very understanding and offered us a choice of rooms on floor 2. We took the keys and checked the rooms, nice but still too warm and a lot smaller. When we returned to reception the receptionist tried again and because all of the sea view rooms have fab views we said we’d be happy on the ground floor. At this point a cheerful Irish chap joined us and offered to show us the rooms. We chose a beautiful room with very high ceilings and a real sense of airiness. Beautiful. Excellent recovery by all concerned.

The cheerful and helpful Irish chap turned out to be Seamus Coen - the Hotel Manager. What a switched on and focussed yet considerate man he is. We saw him interact with many guests and he is a natural, making everybody feel welcome and valued. We also saw him interacting with his team, He runs a tight ship whilst being well respected.

Some of the staff whose names we managed to get and we thought were real assets to the Hotel are Agnes, William, Kate, Maddy and of course Seamus. Sorry to those whose name we didn’t get!

Location:
Great short walk to North Berwick through a good residential area.
Very close to railway station (30 minutes to Edinburgh, £5.60 return).
Short walk across golf course to beach walks.
Short drive to castles and countryside.

The Hotel:
Lovely reception rooms with great views.
Many different types of room available to suit many tastes and budgets. If you don’t like yours then at least give the staff the chance to correct it for you and stop whingeing.
Great breakfast - as already described in previous posts, Stornoway black pudding is the best.
Great dinner - £35 for 3 courses and a lovely experience in a gorgeous setting with great staff.

The Spa:
Well equipped gym
Lovely indoor pool
5 ‘heat rooms’ the aromatherapy grotto, steam room, bio sauna, hot rock sauna and the ice room!!!
Add in the massage shower and the moods shower (fragrance, deluge and cold!).
Finish off with a Jacuzzi that is both indoors and outside - Brilliant.
NB. a little bit of maintenance work needed around Jacuzzi tiling. But it still works well.

Conclusion:
If you are looking for rooms that you’d find in a newly built modern hotel then stay away. The refurbishment has been tastefully done but this is a grand old lady and she creaks in a few places. If you want to stay in a hotel that is charming, quirky and peaceful and in a great location to explore East Lothian then this is the place to go. Give Seamus and his team the chance to look after you. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Our bedroom was freezing at night. We were on the top floor facing the sea, and the 'duvet' on the bed was thinner than a mattress protector. When we complained the reception staff said that this was a normal type of duvet. They eventually changed it for a proper duvet. I don't think they realised that I took photos and video of the 'duvet' as proof that it was not a decent 'tog'. The heating went off at about 8:30pm every night and the windows did not fit the frames properly, so we had a draught coming into the room, which didn't help. The resst of the stay was ok, food was fine, and the room was clean. I would only recommend this to an eskimo, or to someone going there in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This was our 6th visit to the Marine since refurbishment in 2005. Our family loves North Berwick and The Marine.

We took my Mother and Father -in law as they don't get out much due to my Father-in-law's disabilities. Julie (Reservations Manager at the Marine) ensured they were given an accessibilty room. Check-in was a breeze, the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Something you cannot put a price on is the beautiful views from 'The Marine'.
We were given a junior suite (2 adults, 1 child) which was wonderful. We had superb views of Berwick Law and The Bass Rock etc.. My In-laws enjoyed very much sitting in the peace and quiet of the living area with wonderful views. This also worked well with the wheel-chair and was really appreciated as they couldn't use the spa, pool etc..

The food at dinner was really top notch and Harry (he's so charming, a real character) ensured everything went smoothly.

Although it was only a one night stay my Mother-in-law said it had been a real tonic to them and would hope to go back in the future. She couldn't praise the hotel, food and charming staff enough,

Thank you once again from 'The Risk' family, Larbert.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My partner and I decided to head out of Edinburgh for an overnight stay for the Bank Holiday. We were looking for a place to chill out, and boy did we find it at the Marine hotel! We booked a late deal with laterooms, and selected the cheapest room (£115), although this did include a great buffet (hot and cold) breakfast.
The location of the Marine Hotel is breathtaking - fortunately, we had great weather, and it was gorgeous to sit drinking a chilled glass of Pinot Grigio as the sun was setting over the Firth of Forth. We decided to eat in the hotel, and were not disappointed. The menu is not cheap (£35 for 3 courses), but we felt it was well worth it. A good, varied selection and real quality. The service in the restaurant and bar area was also excellent.
We also took full advantage of the spa / gym facilities - even though check out is at 11am, they let you use the facilities for the rest of the day! We also had some treatments - my partner had the 'stress buster' massage, and I had a massage and pedicure. Very good treatments - amoungst the best I've ever had - and, again, the staff were very professional and relaxed.
Parking is also easy at the hotel - a large car park opposite. It's a pleasant walk in to the town of North Berwick, which has some unique and interesting shopping.
Overall, a really great break. Even though we were away for only 1 night, we feel like we've had a longer away. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

I was taken here by my friends as a surprise treat for my birthday. The day was perfect with the sun splitting the sky and North Berwick looked fantastic. How pleased was I to then find out I was being taken for a 3 course lunch followed by a spa afternoon - especially when I discovered the large hot tub goes outside too!

The hotel was great, lunch was delicious and the hot stone spa treatment? Well my only complaint was it was not long enough!!!

Left early evening with pruney fingers from spending hours in that hot tub! Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.