We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to its great reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Inn Restaurant

The Victoria Inn Restaurant
Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England
+44 (0)1328 711008
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $60
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, the Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham estate. There are ten elegant bedrooms, the bar and dining rooms offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. The “Vic” serves delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800’s when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. The Victoria re-opened in Spring 2013 following extensive refurbishment.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lived up to its great reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

For anyone contemplating a drive through the beautiful scenery of the A149 coastal road in North Norfolk this summer then The Victoria Inn is an absolute must visit lunch or dinner stop.
The building itself provides a perfect setting for a lazy afternoon looking out over the surrounding farmland while enjoying some excellent dinning choices.
We visited twice in the course of a week - for lunch and then back for dinner - and each meal was most enjoyable albeit that the venue was packed with people enjoying the stunning early summer weather.
Definitely worth adding to the 'to do' list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    16
    8
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 NEW

Part of Holkham Park, we lunched after after a visit to the estate. Dogs are allowed throughout the restaurant. Seemed popular with families too. Food OK, a tad expensive though and portions may seem small to some. Service friendly but could be a little more efficient (our complimentary bread to nibble on came just prior mains, some 10 mins after ordering). Very few outside tables available, but this we understand was due to maintenance. Tables in the appealing conservatory were 'reserved' yet unoccupied throughout our visit, which we thought odd. Overall would recommend for lunch, perhaps followed by a walk to Holkham beach nearby.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Re-union”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I organised a re-union of retired business friends from Scotland, Oxford, Isle of Wight, and Fakenham.The bedrooms and bathrooms were absolutely superb, with beds very comfortable. We arrived at about 4pm and had tea in the residents drawing room-splendid cakes and a variety of teas available. We had our re-union dinner in the . The staff were attentive and friendly, and the food delicious, and thoroughly enjoyed by all Breakfast was in the main dining room and we had everything that we could possibly want, and all well cooked and served by friendly staff who had been on duty the night before. One member of staff who had just left off, took me in her private car to the park, so that I could locate soon friends. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, drinks and service - shame about the dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

As a party of 4, we went for lunch at the Victoria Inn to celebrate my birthday. We were shown to a lovely table in the conservatory which backed on to the garden. A weekend wedding party was starting to gather so it was quite busy with family members greeting each other and the mounting excitement was wonderful to watch.

As we were celebrating my 57th (!), we enjoyed a glass of Adnams champagne - splendid!

The food was superb. We had truly delicious asparagus with poached egg and hollandaise, followed by pan fried chicken breast, boulangere potatoes, wild mushroom fricasse and spring cabbage. All washed down with an organic Rioja.

But here's my gripe ... I love dogs, I really do and in a pub bar or garden, I'll enjoy their company and give them a fuss, if required. What I don't get is why they have to come into restaurants. The couple at the next table had not 1 but 3 dogs at their feet; 2 labs and a spaniel. One of the labs was barking and begging for food. His master ignored him, but in a conservatory, the noise was distracting to say the least.

A member of the bridal party also had a black lab which he kept bringing in from the garden whenever he felt like chatting to some of the party who were lunching. They were seated at the table on the other side of us. My brother, who is allergic to dogs, was very uncomfortable as, at one point, the dog's bum was leaning against his leg. Later on, the dog appeared in the restaurant without his lead and/or owner. He looked very pleased with himself.

I know it's North Norfolk and so we have to expect our weekenders, visitors and locals to chill out and relax, but I do wish common courtesy could prevail. You love your dogs, we all love the dogs, dogs are great, but come on, not when we're eating.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Much better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After a very disappointing visit a year or so ago (service was so bad that the food was irrelevant), we decided to give the revamped place another try. Interior is more appealing and, apart from a lady who was too busy on her iPhone to acknowledge us when we arrived, the service was much improved. Excellent fish and chips, good whitebait, creamy creme brullee and coffee so strong you could stand a spoon in it! £60 for three people. Will definitely go back and probably bring the dogs in next time, everyone else seems to....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and team has without doubt come a long way in the last year although obviously still room for improvement with mobile phone habits! We look forward to seeing you back again soon and do please bring the dogs with you they are more than welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria Inn Restaurant also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to The Victoria Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.