We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good situation friendly clean spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe Inn

Save Saved
You added The Globe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Globe Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Buttlands | Norfolk, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Suffolk UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good situation friendly clean spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed here l night 13 November 2012 Good twin room in a almost victorian style modern bathroom all good.overlooking green square. Parking on the street. Very quite area mostly houses and l pub/hotel further down the square. Bar quiet but with friendly staff food not entirely to my choice but it all looked good. Breakfast very good. Just a very short walk to the main street that had all kinds of shops . Quayside not too far away down hill. One of the waitresses told of several other places we may be inyerested in including a Dutch barge selling pancakes of all descriptions....not open the days we were there though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    39
    15
    15
    6
See reviews for
21
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cephalonia, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights, room great overlooking The Buttlands, beds and bathroom both excellent! Staff helpful, happy and knowledgible. The only down side was that having read the comprehensive info pack in the the room we decided to follow its advice and choose a steak from the restaurant's menu; all meat from local farmer / butcher. Probably two of the most gristly pieces of meat we've ever encountered. The sausages at breakfast (from the same source?) were not up to much either. Our advice to the Globe "change your butcher".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback on our suppliers and will investigate accordingly. Hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We thought we'd give the globe a try after regularly visiting another local hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. Comfy rooms,friendly staff, lovely hidden restaurant we had no idea was behind the rustic bar. Keep up the good work, we'll be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and trying our hotel for the first time. We are glad to have met your expectations and pleased to hear that you would consider staying with us again in the future. See you sono!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

with places like wells next the sea growing in popularity i can thoroughly recommend the globe inn as a place to stay, enjoy a good meal and an excellent pint of adnams
stayed in room 1 which is large with a large bathroom/shower - very clean and very well decorated
service is good with an excellent location on a big green and a 3 minute walk from the sea fron in wells

Room Tip: we have stayed in several rooms but find room 1 the best - you pay a bit more but its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We loved it...a short break with a much needed wind down from our daily cares. The Globe was perfect, our arrival was greeted by Dannielle who booked us in very enthusiastically and also cheerfully showed us to our room. It was a lovely room - simple in many ways but just right. It was thoughtful too - we like Redbush tea in the evening and unlike any hotel anywhere in the world in my prior experience - they had the right tea bag!!! Dinner was terrific and great value, my partner's grilled chicken with polenta and a red pepper coulis was in her top 10 meals of all time! My dressed crab was as fresh as one could ever expect and more flavoursome than one could possibly expect. It was a really nice blend of informal yet utterly polite and good quality without being pompous in any way. Quite unlike the uncomfrtable snobbery one can experience in Burnham Market Wells draws a more normal and nicer group of holidaymakers and it feels more real and thats where the Globe sits very comfortably.

Room Tip: They are all nice - we were at the back which is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us at The Globe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at The Globe on a Sunday night for a short break, travelling on my own with my two faithful basset hounds. Having stayed on a regular basis in Burnham Market, I thought I have a change and stay at The Globe and I was so glad I did.

I received a lovely welcome from the staff and was informed that the housekeeper had been and bought a new extra dog bed that morning to accommodate my two dogs. When I was shown my room (my bags were carried for me) it was bright and airy and beautifully cool, there was air conditioning on ready and it made the room perfectly comfortable on the hottest day of the year. In the room were two dog beds, bowls, 'fish and chips' dog biscuits and even doggie doo bags! The room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the courtyard to the rear of the hotel. Bed and pillows were comfortable, no noise at night, we all slept like logs after a lovely day on the beach.

The restaurant at night was fully booked, but I wanted to eat at the hotel, this was no problem and without any fuss the staff opened up the private dining room for me. Dogs are allowed throughout the hotel and I ate with my companions snoozing soundly under the table. Food was delicious and very reasonably priced, as were drinks. Throughout my time in the public areas staff kept stopping to chat and bring the dogs biscuits and treats on a regular basis. I have never experienced such welcoming and friendly staff, they are a credit to Adnams who own The Globe.

As is was a sunny morning, I had breakfast outside in the courtyard. I had fresh berries and yoghurt, full english, toast and tea. The full english was well cooked and served on a piping hot plate. It definitely set me up for the day!

In conclusion I had a perfect stay at The Globe, but the credit doesn't go to the accommodation alone, it also goes to the staff who went out of their way to make my stay so enjoyable. It will be The Globe I stay at from now on when we have a break by the beach, as long as there is a room available I won't be staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: My room overlooked the courtyard to the rear of the Hotel and was blissfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're so glad that you, and your dogs, enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Heavenly food, spacious family room but internal doors a bit tricky, especially for children or parents with buggies. Beautiful location on the Green and with the beach near(ish) it makes for an excellent base from which to see the area. Was a bit uncomfortable on those rare warm days, and room was quite bright but room was provided with a fan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your whole experience with us and appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: The Buttlands | Norfolk, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a pretty, leafy Georgian square in the bustling seaside town of Wells-next-the-Sea, The Globe Inn is a great base for a break on the beautiful north Norfolk coast or an ideal spot for a pint of beer and some simple, home cooked food. Accredited with 4 stars and a silver award by Enjoy England, the Inn offers exceptional quality in all areas. We are also proud to have been approved by the Visit England Cyclists Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Welcome Pets schemes. There is a sun-filled courtyard for alfresco eating and dining and a perfect spot to read your morning paper whilst having breakfast. Take a short walk down Staithe Street to the quay and you’ll see fishermen setting out on a good tide for inshore crab, whelk and the passing sea trout and bass. The town offers a central base for the nearby beautiful Holkham Beach with more than four miles of golden sand, and the world-class bird watching sites of the Holkham Nature Reserve, Cley-next-Sea and Titchwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
The Globe Inn Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.