We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a disappearing breed of simple, proper old pubs. Great pies!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Horseshoes

The Three Horseshoes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells-next-the-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Horseshoes
Save
You added The Three Horseshoes to your Saves list
Bridge Street | Warham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of a disappearing breed of simple, proper old pubs. Great pies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Simple, classic old-fashioned pubs like this are disappearing fast as the stripped-bare-with-leather-chairs look takes over the world. Well worth seeking out, just a minor diversion from the main coast road. No piped music, no frills, excellent Woodfords and guest beers straight from the barrel - home made pies and casseroles a speciality. We had delicious lamb & garlic and steak & kidney pies with generous portions of veg and will most certainly be back here next time we are in Norfolk. Traditional pub means traditional hours – note that lunchtime food is only available 12 noon – 1.45pm.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This pub is a favourite of ours and on Saturday after a day at Holkham in the brilliant autumn sunshine - the Three Horseshoes did not disappoint. The food is home cooked and arrived promptly (we were the first customers at 18.00 - there was a queue behind us). We had Hock of Ham - which was enormous and very tasty with superb crackling, sausage pie, venison pie and fish pie - all served with a selection of vegetables and great potatoes - the only shame is that we had no room for puddings!

Room Tip: Arrive early and wait by the door - which open at 18.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I are amazed by the poor reviews submitted under the 'Families' heading. We have just spent a week touring N. Norfolk, an area we have visited every year for 50 years, eating out every day in a different pub. We had a lovely lunch at the 3 Horseshoes at the beginning of our tour (and enjoyed the best Wherry ever).
We extended our holiday by a day solely in order to return to the Horseshoes for a last meal before regretfully returning home. What more can one say?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Have never stayed at the B&B but as the pub and food was one of the major draws for people staying here I thought I add my warning. This was always one of my favourite spots inland for a pub lunch but if you haven't been for a while then you are in for an unpleasant surprise. The food has gone downhill dramatically. All the other ingredients that make it cute are still there, lovely village, rose clad building, dusty bric a brac, beer served from the barrel (along with the as always unfriendly bar staff that you just had to put up with...) The policy of being unable to book a table was a bit of a pain but the wait usually worth it. No waiting these days as the public have voted with their feet and are enjoying imaginatively cooked Norfolk produce in a string of gastropubs across the county. Ok they might be a bit more but you are worth it. My final meal here the other week with my parents, partner and sister was frankly embarrassing. Don't believe the misty eyed view of this place as a simple down to earth boozer with good grub. It is dull, poorly cooked food at not particularly cheap prices served up with the minimum of service in an place devoid of. atmosphere that no amount of pub junk can make up for. Pubs need people enjoying themselved to work. The Three Horseshoes been on my hitlist every year for the past seven years and it is so sad to witness its rapid decline and realise I will never eat there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I had to write this in response to the last review. We have eaten several times at the pub and it has always been a good experience. Our annual family holiday to Norfolk always includes a lunch at the Three Horseshoes. The food is plain, simple and great-the pies are legendary and of generous and tasty proportions. The veg supplied with the pies is fresh (spuds to die for) and again generous. Lastly the puddings are epic and a fitting end to what is always a very satisfying lunch. The last reviewers quibble was mainly about the decor. Yes the pub is dated, there are many interesting and odd artifacts from a bygone age on the walls including early household appliances and old adverts! The carpet and furniture is tired, the walls haven't been painted since the war, and there are patches of damp, but so what? This pub is a gem, we paid around £10 a head including drink (pint of Wherry? yes please) and thoroughly enjoyed it! If you want good honest grub in quirky surroundings, just go!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The food we were recently served (40 minutes after placing our order) at The Three Horeshoes in Warham was so disgusting that we left after only a few mouthfuls. We ordered 2 roast chicken dishes, a lamb pie and macaroni cheese. The chicken was over cooked and dripping with grease, the macaroni cheese tasted of nothing at all, but worst of all, the lamb dish was full of fatty gristle and we found two long black hairs in it. If that isn't bad enough , the waiter was covered in sweat and had a constant drip on the end of his nose that had no where to full but into what he was carrying. The Three Horseshoes is a pretty old pub in a nice village so we were pretty shocked to experience this lack of hygiene and care.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
needham market
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

What a surprise this was a step back in time good pub food how it should be served with plenty of fresh vegetables and beer straight from the barrel the woodfords wherry was superb.The artefacts in this pub are a collectors dream.We both had pies my partners lamb pie was good and my rabbit pie could not be faulted.Do not expect white table cloths, this is a down to earth pub, not like a lot on the Norfolk coast ,long may it survive.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes

Address: Bridge Street | Warham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The 3 Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
The Three Horseshoes Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Horseshoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.