We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Wells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cappuccino Bar - CLOSED

The Cappuccino Bar
Staithe Street, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1AF, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best in Wells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very quirky, Friday night is music night. Lots of choices of nice things to eat. Home made cakes at lunch time as well as hot food. Miss this and you will miss out!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice friendly warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited for a quick snack on a bright but cold lunchtime. It is very welcoming with plenty of room between tables, dog friendly and good fresh coffee. The service is very friendly and the sandwich and soup we had were very tasty. A nice imaginative menu with draft beer and a nice selection of wine. All the meals being served also looked very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon by chance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our original destination, the crab cafe, was closed at lunch time. All other options seemed to be fish and chips or coffee/panini type places until we had the fortune to arrive here.

My wife had a crab sandwich which she talked about all afternoon. I shared some tapas with the kids which included dressed crab, kind prawns and tasty little sausages. I had a nice cold glass of Sauvignon Blanc while the rest of the family went for hot chocolate with marshmallows.

It's a quirky place with great character. We will visit Wells again specifically to eat and drink here in the evening. If you like sterile chains then avoid, if not then enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnford, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“tapas lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had been in here for coffee earlier in the season and I quite liked it but my partner wasn't sure as it was very busy then. It was quiet on our visit this time so we stayed and had lunch. We decided on tapas dishes for a change. The choice available was good with a mix of seafood, fish, meat and vegetarian options. Our selections didn't disappoint us. The guacomole was particularly nice as it had a chilli kick to it and not bland. Prices were very reasonable for wells too. Great for us as they welcome dogs and we sat by the fire relaxing on the sofa. If I was to criticise anything it was that the payment was requested at the time of ordering so it felt less like a restaurant and perhaps that they didn't want you to stay too long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

In a pretty but expensive coastal town this bar stands out as offering affordable meals to those on a modest budget. In early October a number of places were closed but not only was this open but it offered a good range of snacks in its tapas menu. The portions were decent, the service efficient and the price affordable. It also thankfully had no muzak blaring out, unlike the Bowling Green pub down the road which decided all its customers needed to hear North Norfolk Radio loudly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cappuccino Bar also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cappuccino Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.