We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good but they need to watch standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel
The Buttlands, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Faversham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Still good but they need to watch standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have visited this hotel at least 3 or 4 times before our recent visit in June.
We opted for classic rooms as they are of a very good standard. The staff as ever was attentive and they organised for us flowers to be in the room for our friends in advance. The restaurant however was a bit “hit and miss” during our stay, which has never happened before.
When my wife said she was a “little disappointed” with her fish it was immediately removed from our bill which we felt was going too far, but appreciated as they are I guess looking for complete satisfaction, which to be fair, we do get normally. However on the following evening the wife (who would NEVER complain normally) and one of our guests both sent their dishes back and had something different. This we had not even heard of in this hotel, which, with its famous chief, is one of the best places to eat in the area. It was we found out that the choice of replacement dishes was now quite restricted and so early in the evening.
Then we all remarked that same afternoon the complementary scones were not that good but one couldn’t complain at something that came free!
We also felt that economising in other areas of staffing as well but we just have been unlucky this visit. Would we go there again? Yes, as it’s a great hotel. They do, however, need to be aware of the maintenance of their normally very high standards.

Room Tip: The classic rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    129
    23
    21
    10
See reviews for
74
252
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner had the opportunity to stay twice in this hotel and although everything is great (from food, wine selection, room, location, etc) what really did it for us was the warmth and professionalism of the staff, with special mention to Kelly, the manager. Made us feel welcome and truly unique. Definitely an experience to repeat!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had room 12, which was lovely, as was the food and service. A high point of the hotel is the quality of service provided by the - mainly young - staff: without exception, they were so helpful, efficient and cheerful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Comfy room, tasty food, excellent service, complementary tea and scones ...
......................................................
.......................................................
........................................................
.........................................................
.........................................................
.......................................................







..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I went to this resturant about a year ago now and i loved it i thought the food was amazing, i decided it would be a lively place to treat my parents to a meal. the restaurant was very clean and we were seated ahead if our booking time. Our waitress was very friendly but did make an inappropriate comment. We ordered are food and we didn't have to wait long (which was a bonus as I was starving) we had the soup to start and it was delicious. When the main came I was very impressed until I started eating I wasn't impressed with there onion rings there was a ring but were was the onion? The chunkier chips were undercooked. But I couldn't fault the steak it was the best bit of steak I have had since coming back from Texas a year ago. It was a lovely evening overall but not sure if I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wells-next-the-Sea is wonderfully quaint and completely unspoilt. The Crown Hotel is lovely. A warm, friendly welcome. All the staff are well trained nothing was too much trouble. We ate one evening meal in the restaurant, delicious. Parking was tricky which was important to us, otherwise it would have been top marks. Breakfast was great, the choice is huge and the quality superb. Complimentary cream tea 4-5pm is a very nice touch. The beer garden is a sun trap, jugs of Pimms and so many dogs. Will definitely return with the whole family next time, pooch included!

Room Tip: We had room 11 which overlooked the green. It was very quiet which was ideal for a relaxing few days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited here yesterday which was a fabulous sunny bank holiday Monday. Beer garden was a real sun trap. Great location offer the green. Enjoy a delicious selection of appetisers as a lunchtime snack. Main courses we saw being brought out to the other tables looked and smelt rather good to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: The Buttlands, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel - the perfect place to retreat, relax and refresh in beautiful north Norfolk Big blue skies, sandy beaches stretching away into eternity, desolate salt marshes rich in wildlife, picturesque villages and quaint seaside resorts - north Norfolk is the undoubted jewel in East Anglia's glittering crown. And if you're looking to experience the natural wonders offered by the north coast of one of England's remotest counties, you need cast your eyes no further than The Crown Hotel. A former coaching inn, the hotel is tucked away on the edge of a tranquil tree-lined green in the fishing port of Wells-next-the-Sea. Recently refurbished to enhance its existing historic features, whilst still retaining a warm and welcoming ambience, The Crown has 12 luxury en-suite bedrooms. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and DVD player and uniquely and individually decorated to create a warm and welcoming home-from-home atmosphere. The hotel has two family suites with separate children's rooms and baby-monitoring facilities, and in some rooms you can even have your dog to stay. Downstairs, guests and diners can select from a sumptuous and varied menu which makes superb use of the finest and freshest seasonal produce, courtesy of the hotel's proprietor, New Zealand-born chef Chris Coubrough and his kitchen team. Whether you choose to eat in The Crown's front restaurant, the spacious orangery or one of our two lounge rooms, you're sure of a culinary experience that will linger long on the tongue, and even longer in the memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.