We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Crab House Cafe

Wells Crab House Cafe
38 Freeman Street, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1BA, England
+44 1328 710456
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A cafe / Bistro open for lunch and evening meals. Specialising in local fish and meats. Just refurbished and opening in April 2010.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fresh food at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is straight across from the car park as you come into wells and on a Sunday only opens from 11-2.30.
Initially annoyed as we required a table for 4 and the waitress gave such a table away to the couple in front when other tables for 2 were available, however, within 5 mins a table was found for us .
Drinks were served immediately and our food came not too far in the distance either.
Normally possibly a concern , here no , the smoked mackerel salad was great both the very tasty fish that was the star but the salad it came with.The crab sald was equally good as was the scampi and chips, even the fish finger sandwich was a must.
There are plenty of nice looking place on the quay side but give this one a try and you won't be disappointed

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    84
    34
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

popped in for Sunday lunch with my two girls and had a lovely meal. Aged 7 & 9 they declared the fish chowder to be unbelievably tasty, loved the chicken and ham pie with fresh veg and then were wowed with strawberry meringues. Very nice tasty food, great friendly service - thank you we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Despite no booking got a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Read the reviews on here didn't expect to get in as no booking. Found the place (no seats available) asked if we could come back in half an hour so glad we did. My dad and I had the cold seafood platter which was amazing. Crab, lobster, king prawns, oak smoked salmon mixed salad leaves, seafood sauce, coleslaw and granary bread. My husband had a steak which he was equally happy with. The platter was a sharing one I would class myself as a big eater and I was full. A thoroughly enjoyable meal and I will be back. Excellent

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb as usual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the third year we've regularly eaten at the Crab House Cafe in preference to many other establishments in Wells. Ideal for young families in the early evening, very accomodating and obliging staff in a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. Great efficient service too!
What can I say about the food? Great reasonably priced menu on a par with other establishments but the quality is head and shoulders above the rest. The 'specials' are superb, you'll not be disappointed! Crab burger, Grey Mullet on a bed of Samphire and Skate wings all delicious during our stay in Wells.
Book early and be sure to look out for the Captain of Blucher waiting on, a true star and 'local seafood hero'!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Decided to try this on the basis of trip advisor reviews but we were disappointed. Asked whether a few items were fresh and was told they were not which is odd for a sea food restaurant next to a harbour! Went for the sea bass at 15 pounds and was expecting something special for the price. Received an anaemic fillet slopped on top of a small portion of potato slices. Worse still was that it was bland and uninspiring. My wife had the prawn salad, the prawns were rubbery and tasteless (again not fresh) but on the plus side the salad wasn't too bad. Service poor, wasn't even asked whether everything was ok. I don't often leave poor reviews but on the basis of my experience I would recommend going to the fish and chip shop instead!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Crab House Cafe also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Wells Crab House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Crab House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.