We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Wells-next-the-sea

Save Saved
You added YHA Wells-next-the-sea to your Saves list
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Church Plain, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“superb hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

we booked this hostel as a base while walking the norfolk coastal path .wells to cromer section. what a little gem this place is. we arrived and were greeted by peter who was very polite and friendly . the hostel has had a total modernization with fantastic power showers and very clean facilities. well stocked kitchen and comfy tv room. a perfect base with great coasthopper bus service for the coast walk.

Room Tip: all rooms of high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked Wells YHA out for a 2-night school group visit at the start of July. Having lead many school trips at various YHA sites this was the best I have experienced. It was well set up for a school group with space to have classroom sessions along with space for the students to relax and watch TV. The kitchen was well equipped and we were able to cook breakfast for 26 people. The rooms were comfortable and the bunk beds were modern and easy to climb to the top, much better than the older bunks in some hostels. Overall it was a very good trip and I would hope to use this Youth Hostel for future visits, both with school and as an individual. The location is also very good, with just a short walk to the seafront at Wells, which is a lovely place. Hunstanton and Sheringham are quite accessible along the coast in either direction.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The YHA hostel at Wells-next-the-sea is a great place to stay for families. The family rooms are clean and comfortable, the showers warm and the kitchen well-equipped. Wells beach is just down the road, and there is no better place to spend a day with kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The YHA at Wells-next-the-sea is a return to a traditional YHA. however that is not all. It is spotlessly clean, well maintained with lots of modern comforts and really fantastic showers. We bprebooked the disabled facilities and the fact that this YHA has them, makes it a must for anyone wanting the YHA experience but with a disability. A great welcome from the Warden Piotr who has lots of local knowledge and interst in the YHA. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

stayed here one night as didn't fancy camping,the hostel is in fantastic condition,clean and perfect,i was so pleased I joined the yha,the fella that booked me in was great,
will try and return again when there is room,,

Room Tip: had a room to myself,fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Norfolk and very much enjoyed this hostel. It was immaculate all through with a very modern decor and efficiently laid out spotless kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and it was a delight to go to sleep under the stars seen through the skylight window.
There were a couple ok comfortable lounges with a range of books and games to borrow.
Wells is close to beaches for walks and good shops and restaurants.
I can thoroughly recommend this place and will return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a very well run, we'll maintained youth hostel. Peter has really put a lot of effort into keeping this delightful place in tip top condition. I believe it was updated 7 years ago, but it feels very modern and is spotless. Peter is very attentive and likes to make sure all is well, which I refreshing.

The hostel is located away from the town centre by about 10 minutes' walk, in a quiet neighbourhood. 2 fairly decent pubs close by, along with all the amenities and specialist, localised fish shop, butcher, grocery and all manner of independent retailers; hardly any sign of chains here, thank goodness!

I've marked sleep quality down by one point, because I'm a light sleeper and don't sleep well away from home. That's then more of a reflection of me than the hostel.

In short, we had a great three-day stay, can't wait to return and can't recommend Wells YHA enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YHA Wells-next-the-sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wells-next-the-sea

Address: Church Plain, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wells-next-the-sea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wells Youth Hostel, situated on the outskirts of thisfriendly Norfolk fishing village, is set within easy strikingdistance of the North Norfolk Coastal Path, a boat ride tovisit the local seal colony, and Salt Marshes teamingwith bird life.The hostel building, formerly the St Nicholas ChurchHall, was converted during 2002, making this one of themore recent additions to our network. It currentlycomprises 31 beds (including 3 doubles) on two floors,with comfortable 2, 3, & 4 bedrooms, on Church Plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Wells-next-the-sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wells-Next-The-Sea Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Wells-next-the-sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.