We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thomas Paine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Thomas Paine Hotel to your Saves list
The Thomas Paine Hotel
33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thetford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My most recent visit was quite a short one. A half day conference at the hotel in a light and airy room at the back of the property.
Some of my colleagues were staying overnight and I viewed 3 of the rooms. All had large en suite showers with big bedrooms and very tidy.
The catering was excellent as usual, and I left satisfied.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed our new facilities, they are proving very popular with all our new menus and corporate rates. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    33
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
68
6
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This fantastic hotel just seems to surprise us every time we come here, always coming to see and treat our grandchildren they always go out their way to please you, this kind of customer service lacks everywhere nowadays. In the past we have had room service bespoke curries with homemade deserts and now this time we the most FANTASTIC afternoon tea. Been a long time probably since we were in London that such excellence was serve on a three tier stand in front of a lovely log fire. Now they tell us that they are bringing in the fusion teas served in a glass. Beware don't go for a quick bite but take your time and indulge and enjoy. We have also been told about their new dining club, we will for sure become members. Thoroughly recommended to all families.

Room Tip: Book for afternoon tea as it gets pretty busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
What a pleasure it was to see you all again, the staff always look forward to seeing all our guests again but you do make their day when you bring your grandchildren to see us, we never knew kids could be so well behaved. So happy that you enjoyed all the new kids meals and we see that they all loved our new ice creams. Looking forward to your next visit already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Mothers Day Lunch, which i thought was really good value £23 pp for 3 amazing courses. This included a photo by a very good photographer. The menu was varied and each course was well cooked and there was plenty of it too, you wont be disappointed. As I am dairy free at the moment the chef,Chris came to the table to ask me if there was anything special he could prepare for me- which he did on the nicest fruit sorbet and blueberries. The starters and mains were very nice, i had melon in ginger sauce and the roast beef and my husband has lobster bisque and chicken and spinach tagliatelle.. All were lovely. The service is outstanding, Gez and Rosy,bar staff, waitresses, waiters and the chef manager all make you feel welcome and are very attentive. We have been here a number of times and each time does not disappoint. The Thomas Paine memorabilia is dotted about and really adds interest. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
What a great treat it was to look after you on a such an important day MOTHERS DAY, we also had a fantastic day looking after everyone and so enjoyed everyone having their portrait with us, thank you once again and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I would like to thank everyone at the Thomas Paine hotel for making my stay a very pleasant and enjoyable one. The room was lovely and found all the staff very pleasant and very helpful. I hope to be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Fantastic to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us recently, the staff also enjoyed your company and was a pleasure to look after you, please do let us know when you are returning so that we can take care of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

sadly we arrived late evening but still received a friendly welcome, our room was pristine and wow what a comfortable bed, a great breakfast together with the friendly service made our too short stay a pleasure. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED HOTEL

Room Tip: stayed in room 3 very light and spacious all round a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
So nice of you to put your comments on for the hotel, shame it was such a short stay but are happy you enjoyed your stay and we will be waiting to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I must congratulate everyone at the Hotel for an extremely pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and the service was first class. The food was great too. Courteous, polite and professional staff in all areas of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Thetford and get great value for money. Thank you for a wonderful stay...will visit this place soon again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
It was great to have you here while you were in Thetford, we are happy that our ambience and facilities made you feel comfortable. It was great that you took advantage of our FREE WIFI it's great to have it now throughout the hotel free of charge. We are looking forward to your return, your room is waiting and so are the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My business partner and I stayed there for a night a few weeks ago and had a lovely time. The manager who we had a meeting with next day regards a project we are working with was very helpful and accommodating to our requests and we are working with him at the end of the month.

We can not comment on the food as we did not have time to eat there - but the room and staff were great.

Room Tip: There is one twin apparently so do book for that asap if that is what you are after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Excellent to see that you enjoyed our company, our manager always try's his best to look after all , and it's so nice to see our guests noticing his and our teams joint effort to go further. We will always be learning but to have you onboard makes it a little easier and nice that our efforts are nearing the goal set. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms.If you want excellent local meats and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel,our new sizzling dishes tantalite all taste buds, whether you want indian,Chinese or Mediterranean its all here,efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thomas Paine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.