We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience from start to finish...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mulberry

The Mulberry
11 Raymond Street, Thetford IP24 2EA, England
01842824122
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 44 restaurants in Thetford
Price range: $32 - $79
Cuisines: English, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Thetford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience from start to finish...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Always a joy to find a top class eaterie that makes a meal into an experience and the Mulberry definitely falls into this category. A handy town centre location with plenty of parking nearby, this is a venue that really does get it right on almost every front...from the very friendly and engaging customer service to the innovation shown on the menu this is a restaurant that could easily be knocking on the door of Mr Michelin requesting a star. When every mouthful is a joy to behold you know you've landed somewhere special...I had the chicken pate starter followed by a succulent pork dish that was sublime..an orange and walnut tart dessert rounded it off perfectly..my partner went for the scallops, Barnsley chop and a delectable chocolate dessert...which I had to test of course! The cost for three courses for two plus drinks came in at just over 60 quid..excellent value for 2 hour dining experience.. Overall very impressed...this place offers one of the most innovative menu selections in the region and is well worth a visit...we shall return soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    149
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Onwards and Upwards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I first reviewed this restaurant on 20th Jan 2012 (please look and the compare).
On returning nearly 18 months later I can report with confidence that a lot of the niggles I had at the time have been addressed.
The "pile it high" concept has been ditched with the emphasis now on fresh seasonal ingredients. Portions and presentation are attractive. Front of house is still friendly and attentive to your needs without getting in your face.
The wine selections are very approachable both in terms of price and selection. I am very sniffy about exorbitant mark ups. (another tick!)
Whether you are a couple, family or even a wedding party , everybody will do their very best to ensure that everything is to your liking.
One titchy little criticism - the meat is of such good quality that the restaurant should now be able to name the source on the menu.
We shall NOT be waiting another 18 months before we return!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You just have to eat here!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We are so lucky to have this wonderful restaurant in our home town. We visit frequently and every time experience top class food with top class service. Karen, Mark and their team have got it just right and we cannot speak highly enough of them and their delicious menu. We enjoy eating out and travel far and wide to experience different places but we have honestly found that nothing tops The Mulberry. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MUST VISIT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently had my first visit to The Mulberry and what a fantastic experience it was! My friends were celebrating their civil partnership and they had their wedding breakfast there.
I thought the food was top notch, it was presented beautifully and tasted amazing. The setting was so warm and relaxing and made for perfect photographic backdrops.
The staff were all very friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would recommend this venue to anyone - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently held the reception of our civil partnership here and the experience far exceeded my wildest dreams four our day.
Karen made sure that the planning and actual day was stress and worry free for us and our guests and provided a perfect venue and perfect food for our perfect day. I cannot state enough how amazing this lady is!
The Mulberry is a beautiful restaurant with a fantastic ambience. The staff are professional, polite and efficient. The food is fabulous and the chef a genius! It seems a shame we can only give 5/5 as the highest score. 100/5 would be more appropriate!
If you are planning an event in East Anglia, or looking for the pefect dining experience then you will not find a better venue than The Mulberry. Our whole evening was perfection and we cannot thank them enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mulberry also viewed

 

Been to The Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mulberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.