We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly awful food!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Anvil Inn & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Anvil Inn & Restaurant
Saint Andrews Lane | congham, King's Lynn PE32 1DU, England
+44 1485 600625
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 141 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional English Pub serving good quality, great value home made food. Two meals for £10 available Monday to Thursday. Local Real Ales featured.These change weekly as The Anvil is a Freehouse. Live Music on Friday evenings (twice a month)
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fairly awful food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great pub and chatty barman, but the food was dire...If you like fried and fatty this is the place for you. It was dripping in fat, the potato skins were nuked to within an inch of their life, and none of us finished our meal because it was so greasy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very hot meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our meal on Friday evening. The food was piping hot, served quickly and was quite a good standard. My wife's chicken wit bbq sauce was particularly good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice pub, but check out whats on in the bar before you book !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a table for a Friday evening for 2 people. Found the Pub with the help of the Sat Nav, I don't think we would have found it without it.

The starters were slow to be served, but well worth the wait. The Mushrooms were lovely and hot and plenty of them. The main course followed which again was hot, very tasty and plentiful.

Unfortunately the night we choose to go was Karaoke Night, the bar was busy from 8.30pm and when the music started and became very noisy. We choose not to have a pudding and coffee and left.

Would have been nice if we had been given the option to sit in the Restaurant, which was away from the bar. We didn't see this until we drove away and this was not offered to us.

I would revisit it I was that way but would not make a special journey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Reliable, tasty and plenty of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really nice evening meal with good choice of usually local beers. The steak or chicken sizzler really sizzles. Friendly landlord and quick service. Not particularly easy to find. Plenty of car parking space and not always necessary to book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent, great value carvery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for Sunday carvery and was not dissapointed, there was a choice of roast beef or lamb, or both if you choose. The beef was lovely, tender and tasty, accompanied with plenty of fresh vegetables, roast potatoes and yorkie puddings. Staff showed us to our table, was very polite and attentive. Homemade desserts were fantastic! Good atmosphere in the bar, with lots of locals in. Theres a Great choice of local real ales too.
Highly recommended all round!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anvil Inn & Restaurant also viewed

King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The Anvil Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anvil Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.