We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel to your Saves list
The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 - 6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in King's Lynn
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I returned yesterday from a 2 night break at the hotel. Upon arrival we parked in the hotel car park and once in the hotel were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. this was to be the case for the whole stay. Our room was well appointed and clean with a good en suite bathroom.
The building occupies an imposing position on the market square and is well positioned for walking around Kings Lynn and enjoying the shops, pubs and restaurants.
The bar inside the hotel provided a good choice of wine and an excellent pint of Adnams Broadside. We ate at the hotel restaurant on both nights and were very impressed with the helpfulness and quality of service which was matched by the delicious, well presented food that was the best that we have had for a very long time.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly whilst not being intrusive.
We had a wonderful stay at the hotel and will definely be back. Well done to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original part of the building which has great character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guy R

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read your comments, in particular, regarding the staff and they too thank you for these.

I was also delighted to read that you had enjoyed the food, your room and the bar with its selection of real ales.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    217
    64
    18
    11
See reviews for
57
336
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We got a special deal to stay at the hotel for one night with dinner and breakfast included. Right away we were impressed by the overall standard of decoration and furnishing inside. Our room was standard room but spacious, spotless, modern and comfortable. We have never stayed in such a lovely hotel room before. Although the hotel is not geared towards families the staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to ensure our 18 month old daughter's needs were met. The hotel dining room is lovely, food very very good. Service slightly slow although it was a very busy Saturday night. Breakfast again very good. Cream tea was amazing. Scones to die for. All in all I cannot praise this hotel and it's staff highly enough. Definitely will return in the future and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the bar as we have a toddler and our room was very quiet. We all slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear 321Clare

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to cater for your daughters needs as well.

Your comments are very gratefully received, and I have taken the liberty of sharing them with the team who also thank you for your delightful review.

I sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

My very best wishes to you and your family.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night. The reception was very good, we were allocated rooms 21/23 .These rooms are situated on the second floor and you have to climb 54 stairs no lift, although the lady in reception offered to help us with the suitcase . Lovely stairs very old I believe they were the original ones dating back a few hundred years. Good climb. The room (23) was very nicely decorated and roomy, although very warm and that was with the radiators off and the window open. Room 21 was smaller and the toilet cubicle in the bathroom very narrow, so if you are on the large size you might have difficulty in using this toilet.The hotel is well situated with an ample car park. If you manage to get a room in the newer part of the building, there is a lift to take you up to your room. We had a meal in the restaurant, very well presented and very good service by Graham in the restaurant and also from the young man in the bar.The only disappointment was at breakfast with my poached eggs although I asked for them runny I got effectively hard boiled eggs.We would recommend this hotel and most definitely on our next visit we will stay here!

Room Tip: If you can't go up the stairs try to get a room on the new building that has a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear TITOsudbury

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you found the staff to be helpful and that they offered good service.

Please accept my apologies that your egg was not cooked to your liking at breakfast, but my gratitude for your comments regarding your dinner in Turners restaurant.

I hope to welcome you back soon where I am sure you will enjoy the hotel once more.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here for a night while on business midweek, nice room, reasonably quiet and very good breakfast.
Didn't get to eat at the hotel in the evening as was a little out of my price range and there is a Wetherspoons right next door with good value food and good beer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Wooler

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you liked our rooms and breakfast.

Whilst our Turners restaurant offers a 3 course dinner for £25.00 per person, we also offer our guests (who would rather enjoy a more casual experience) an alternative lounge and room service menu with equally good dishes at a much lower price, and I am sorry if you were not made aware of this during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a lovely old building in a very nice location, just off a large square in King's Lynn with some nice old building in the area. It is an upmarket hotel, very nice furnishings, friendly and helpful staff, very good service.
Room was very small, but clean and everything worked. Bed was very small to such an extent that it was a little uncomfortable, but still managed to get my leg over. Well, I guess I might have dreamt it!!
Room was very warm even though it was not particular hot outside, could not get it cool and no air conditioning. This also applied to the breakfast room, which was so hot as to be uncomfortable and made me rush my breakfast.
There is a small car park at the rear of the hotel, a real plus.
There is not a lift in the section we stayed in, could be an issue.
Would we stay here again? Possibly, depending upon the rate and time of year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear woggsy

Thank you for posting a positive review of our hotel on trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay even though you felt the bed was on the small side.

I am pleased to report that breakfast has now been relocated to our front restaurant which is a lot lighter and cooler, so should be more comfortable in the future.

Whilst there is no lift in the old part of the building, the lift that we have enables you to access the old part by a link corridor on each floor.

I hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Kings Lynn.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were here for one night only and were just using the hotel as a base but we were impressed at the quality of our double room. Very clean and well appointed room with a good quality bathroom. Without exception all of the staff we met were polite and friendly. We enjoyed a three course meal and wine in the restaurant and were very impressed at the quality of the food and presentation. The hotel is well located for the town and local attractions. There is sparking which was limited due to a wedding but overnight parking in the public square is only £1.00. Hard to fault although a gym would have been nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear P C

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read your comments regarding our staff as it is they who make the real difference to our guest enjoyment. It was also lovely to read your comments about the food, as our Head Chef Shane and his team are always creating new dishes and experimenting with local ingredients to make innovative dishes.

I hope you will visit us again soon at the Dukes Head Hotel.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting a family wedding. I was arriving early so pre-arranged an early check-in, which was possible because the room was available.

I had a small double room with a comfy bed which was clean and modern. The bathroom was meticulously cleaned - the housekeepers do a very good job here, the toiletries were nice, but the shower pressure could be a bit stronger for my liking (minor point).

The staff throughout the stay, from reception, to the wedding, right the way through to breakfast were professional and helpful.

At the wedding the food was of a good standard. I would have liked a slightly larger variety of beers (eg some IPA's), but I guess it's not a 'traditional bar', and there were other drinks to be had.

Breakfast was excellent - there was a good choice of cooked breakfast items, and cereals - they don't scrimp on quality, and the sausages were very nice.

All in all, I had a very pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear travellernick121

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us when attending a wedding, and that you found the hotel, its staff and facilities to be of a very high standard.

I hope that you will come and stay with us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel

Address: 5 - 6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#6 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.