We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not disappointed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grimston, King's Lynn PE321AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in King's Lynn
Grimston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Certainly not disappointed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Decided to give Congham hall a visit for my husbands birthday and we weren't disappointed! Slightly dubious after the various negative comments on here but really no need!
All the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you.. Hadn't been since the bar had been added and it's a great addition.
Food was fabulous.. Very well presented, beautifully hot and extremely tasty!
Maybe the only criticism is the pricey drinks!
The food prices seemed a lot more reasonable and therefore we would definitely consider supporting our 'local' more often!
Great to see the hotel buzzing and a fab atmosphere!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay. It was especially pleasing that you found the staff “couldn’t do enough for you”. It really does make such a difference to know that the genuine desire we have for our guests to have a great time not only comes across, but is also appreciated. I hope you will find an excuse to come back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    97
    28
    18
    4
See reviews for
50
196
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I came here last year for an overnight stay and loved it. This year they have made some changes and put a very smart bar in next to the restaurant which has given a great atmosphere to the place. I stayed in a room in the courtyard which was huge, extremely comfortable and quiet. Food is superb and the staff seem to be local, young, well trained, very smart and attentive, which is refreshing.
If you are traveling to the area for Houghton Hall, Sandringham or the Norfolk Coast, this has got to be the place to stay. Great to see an English Country hotel full and buzzing with families, couples and parties.

Room Tip: I stayed in a courtyard room by the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay and I am glad you like all the changes we have made since you were here last year. Don’t leave it so long until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

An overnight stay only but in that time it was clear to see that this place is humming. Super efficient staff, good food, a really comfortable room and the whole attitude was so refreshing - nothing was too much trouble. I'd go back - but would stay much longer!

Room Tip: new garden rooms were big, airy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay, it makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your visit and I too look forward to you making that much longer visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Keeping it simple! Hotel reception welcoming , restaurant superb ,great food, excellent service, always with a smile ! Room very comfortable clean and well presented ! SPA one of the best ! quiet, relaxing and treatments top draw !!!

Room Tip: garden rooms look glorious!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay, it makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your visit and I am particularly pleased that you liked the spa. I hope you will be back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I loved my trip to Congham Hall. I was there just for the one night, but super-friendly staff, very good food and fantastically comfortable bed made for a fantastic stay. Highly recommended. It is a bit off the beaten track, so not easy to find.

Room Tip: Loved my room - "Snowdrop". It was out in the courtyard and looked out on the herb garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay, it makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Congham Hall is no Clarridges when it comes to afternoon tea, We sat for 15minutes before our cups of tea came, followed by the cakes!! then a plate of stale sandwiches some with crusts on some with crusts off, (I think we got the end of the loaf) we sent them back 10 minutes later we had lovely sandwiches presented, but we had started eating our scones because we were hungry, so our experience of afternoon tea at Congham Hall was spoilt, we had to ask for more tea on 2 occasions as staff were not very attentive and didn't offer it. No finesse, Lacking in the finer details. disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you much for taking the trouble to report on your recent afternoon tea. It was disappointing that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and judging by your comments, we clearly fell someway short. We have taken your observations to heart and will be redoubling our efforts to ensure that in future guests don’t get forgotten about in the manner you were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying here after reading previous reviews but I'm afraid was left feeling very disappointed. Reception staff when we arrived could not have been any more helpful & staff everywhere seemed very friendly at first. Room was ok, it was one of the cheaper rooms in the main house and is starting to look a bit tired but was ok for one night. I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels for this price that have been far superior and can't really understand how a 3 star hotel can justify the prices and the snobbery. We did decide to eat here but the service was shocking. We ordered a drink my husband asked for a pint of lager and the bar staff looked disgusted at him for asking such a thing! she just said its off i think so he had a bottle of lager but the snobbery attitude of the staff is unbelievable!!! you are only a 3 star hotel that charge 5 star prices!!! when we arrived and sat down & chose from the menus what we wanted for dinner, we decided not to have a starter as there just wasn't anything we liked, a rather stuck up waiter took our order several things on the menu were not available. When we were seated in the restaurant the very young girl asked us if we wanted wine I said yes could I see the wine list, she brought it to us on an ipad & left it on the table and NEVER came back to ask us what we wanted, the wines were well overpriced but we would have liked a bottle, we had our dinner served to us nobody asked then if we were ok for drinks as they were too busy sucking up to all the other tables, the food was ok but portions very small, as nobody during our meal asked if we were ok or needed anything we decided not to stay for a desert or a drink and just to go to our room after a very disappointing birthday meal!! Also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, reading other reviews you have to ask for this! Why should you have to ask, surly this is a basic thing, I have never stayed anywhere that didn't provide this as standard. Breakfast was ok and the staff seemed a lot more experienced in the morning. Spa facilities were very good it's about the only thing we enjoyed.
Sorry just had to also mention we were on the 2nd floor and couldn't believe the fire door is wedged open by 2 doorstops, pretty sure this is an offence.

To sum up, my birthday treat I was so looking forward to was a massive let down & I will not be recommending this hotel! Shop around there are lots of beautiful 4 star hotels for less that make you feel a lot more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to report about your recent visit and I am sorry that your birthday treat was a “massive let down”. We greatly value all constructive feedback be that positive or negative although it is always disappointing to learn of occasions when we get it wrong, which judging by your comments we clearly did in your case. We genuinely do want all our guests to have a great time and wouldn’t dream of “sucking up” to some guests whilst at the same time ignoring others. We offer cask ale on tap and lager in bottles and have a very wide selection of wines both by the glass starting at £5.30 a glass (for a 175ml measure) and £22 a bottle. I am really sorry that you couldn’t find any starter on the menu that took your fancy – there are generally a choice of 8 to 10 different dishes as well as specials on some occasions that usually means there is something for everyone, although we are always happy to cater for particular dietary or special requests if we are told. Once again I am sorry that we didn’t live up to your expectations and especially that you erroneously gained the impression that we have a snobby, stuck up or unfriendly attitude. Nothing could be further from the truth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Grimston, King's Lynn PE321AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#3 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congham Hall is a privately owned Georgian manor set in the heart of the beautiful Norfolk countryside. The splendid sandy beaches of the North Norfolk coast, bustling market towns, nature reserves and the Queen’s beloved Sandringham Estate, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congham Hall Country Hotel
Hotel Congham Hall Country
Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa UK/Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.