We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst night of my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gourmet Plaza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Gourmet Plaza
23 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn CM23 3BG , England
01279 505799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 140 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worst night of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we went to celebrate our friends birthday, we booked the table in the morning and when we went there, there were lots of tables available but for some reason lady took us in some room with no lights and no heating and started preparing the table for us to sit there, we said we don't like it in here as its dark and cold and really uninviting , all we could hear was kitchen noises and chef shouting and laughing in the kitchen. Floor was greasy and slippery and i was scared not to fall over with the plates, to get to the buffet we had to walk through the corridor and 2 rooms we got lost and walked in to the kitchen. When the waitress asked what we want to drink i said i would have a glass of Rose wine and she couldn't understand,she was so awful to us because we asked for the different table, we then asked for the manager and she came, she said there is nothing she can do and she had this face as she don't care, she made clear to us that they are always busy and if she loses a customer she wouldn't even care!!!! we also asked for the cutlery for the child and she said we don't have things like this!!! all night was ruined for us and we all felt really upset!!! i will most definitely tell everyone i know about this experience and i will never go there again!!!!!BTW for half glass of wine we paid 4.80!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hey one and only average buffet!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I like good Chinese food but not what we experienced here just couple of hours ago!
Firstly, staff unwelcoming, rushing you to get food, drinks ect! I would understand that if it be busy night and they obviously to make a money but not when we been on few good drinks and slowly enjoying food which wasnt great deal!
Prawn toast dry, over salted and not much of flavour,
My self in hospitality industry and asked myself how could I serve old mussels?! there was small tray of hot and sour kings size mussels and they been there for god knows how long!!!
No dessert option and wine over pricy...
Buffet deal for 3 water and Merlot over 55
Will see other places if I ever want Chinese around Lynn!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn, norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

nice restaurant, variety of choices, polite and helpful staff, good vegetarian selection if you go in the evening

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I really enjoyed eating here. The food was great and we had a fun conversation with the owner. The service was spot on too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
“team meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

leaving do for colleagues, well catered for and virtually had entire room for our lunch. Staff were attentive, only hiccup is if need to pay separate bills.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Plaza also viewed

King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The Gourmet Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gourmet Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.