We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Meal in Quirky Surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalk and Cheese

Chalk and Cheese
1 Eastgate Street | Shouldham, King's Lynn, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 141 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
LINCOLN UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Family Meal in Quirky Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We came for a family meal at the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The building (an old school) is delightful and we spent several minutes taking in the quirkiness of the interior and unique atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and helpful and after relaxing with drinks in the main lounge area, we went through to the dining area. I did feel that the table was a little small for all of us, however this is the only nit picking bit of criticism I will be writing!

The food was served efficiently by the pleasant waiting staff. The meat (between us we had both the roast options & the steak pie) was excellent quality "proper" meat, cooked well and was served with delicious freshly cooked vegetables. I couldn't manage a pudding but two of our party indulged and pronounced them very tasty.

It was also enjoyable browsing the deli & collectables shop.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Chef needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food was really poor. Badly cooked and a lot of the menu was for stuff out of packets.
The actual restaurant was nicely set out but this place needs a professional chef.
We would not go back and felt embarrased to have taken guests there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quirky restaurant & bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch on a weekday. We arrived just before it opened at 12. The member of staff invited us in and said we could sit and wait in the main lounge area.

The building is a converted school and has been tastefully decorated. The interior is delightful and it almost feels like you are sitting in someone's home! It is very quirky and individual with a lovely fireplace. There is also a lovely dining room off the main lounge area. The staff were very welcoming.

You can just come for a drink or have food. They advised us to book at weekends or in the evenings but it was quiet during our visit on a snowy day. We had the beef and onion sandwich and a burger for lunch, followed by ginger pudding and custard. The food was lovely and served reasonably quickly given that it was clearly cooked to order. The coffee was also very good - one of the best I have tasted. The bill came to £23 for two meals, one pudding and four drinks which is reasonable given the quality of the food and the lovely setting.

If I can find slight fault it would only be that there were no baby changing facilities for our little one. They do have high chairs available for children however.

There is also a small shop on site doing a mixture of local and typical cornershop produce. In addition a quaint little antiques shop is attached which is worth a browse.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2012 and bevond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have now been for dinner at Chalk and Cheese several times and it is always a lovely experience
The friendly , welcoming and quirky restaurant is a true delight and is always full of people who seem to appreciate the experience the charming host / hostess Andrew and Bridget offer
We have dined as a couple and as a family and on every occasion the food has been brilliant and very good value for money. They have no problem in creating good food for veggies and always provide custard , whatever the pud. Their help with the wine selection is always welcome .
We saw New Years Eve 2012 in at the Chalk and Cheese with a lovely meal , warm fire , fantastic live music all evening and even champagne at midnight .. worth the slightly sore head in the morning! Everyone there seemed to enter into the spirit of the evening . We are very lucky to have such a nice place to spend time locally in Shouldham. Hope it doesnt get too popular!!!
PS The shop and gallery are worth a visit too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
1 review
“Always guaranteed and warm welcome and fresh, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visit the Chalk and Cheese regularly and have always been delighted. The atmosphere alone is worth the visit, the range of drinks served is wide and varied, the food is simple, great quality and always a pleasure to eat and hosts Andrew and Bridget are ceaseless in their quest to provide a wonderful experience for all who eat there.
The food has an Italian theme, often made with ingredients sourced from one of Andrew's trips to Italy and often combined with excellent quality local produce to create a real experience. The deceptively simple menu choices, such as Meatballs and penne pasta or Sea Bass and sauté potatoes in no way hint at the range of wonderful flavours which accompany every mouthful.
Someone wanting a drink to complement their food will always be able to seek an unusual tipple, such as excitingly-named beers from the Cambridgeshire brewery Elgoods, sloe gins, excellent quality wines and of course Scottish whiskeys.
Whether we have been as individuals for a quiet coffee with the papers on the sofa by the roaring fire, as a couple for a romantic meal, a family for a post-walk lunch or with friends for a chatty, lively night out, the Chalk and Cheese has always triumphed and should be very proud of the service it provides to the lovely village of Shouldham. Restaurant, bar, village shop, art gallery, historical building and nod to days gone by, the Chalk and Cheese is a truly unique and memorable experience that will stay with you forever.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalk and Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Chalk and Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalk and Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.