We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winch

The Winch
70 Main Road | West Winch, King's Lynn, England
+44 1553 777413
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 141 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kings Lynn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Visited last year with my fiancé and in-laws-to-be for Sunday Carvery. Lovely meal, fresh and delicious. Great value carvery in a nice setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not just for the Carvery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Having visited the winch previously for their superb Carvery, my wife daughter and I popped along to celebrate my birthday ordering from the a la Carte menu. Being some of the first customers to sample from the new menu, we were unsurprised that the food met the high standard we have come to be expect. Do yourself a favour, stop before you get to "Frankie and Benny's" and give The Winch a try, you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Abundance of lovely food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After reading a number of reviews on TripAdvisor my girlfriend and I decided to check this place out for ourselves. We went into the bar for a drink first and then sat in the restaurant for our meal. The meal itself tasted fantastic and the portion sizes were excellent, I have never had so much white bait as a starter, I had to leave some to avoid hardly touching my main course. I had lamb shank for my main and it fell off the bone and was nicely seasoned. My girlfriend had the sweet chilli beef which she very much enjoyed and again this was a large portion. We ended up sharing the homemade honeycomb & iced cream dessert and it was FANTASTIC!! The gentleman and lady behind the bar were lovely as well. Would definitely come again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Came for a midweek carvery and wasn't disappointed! The beef was lovely and moist and the veg perfectly cooked, my daughter loved her Yorkshire pudding so much she wanted another one!
Waiteresses were attentive and overall was excellent value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambride uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, meals on wheels standard.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having read some of the promising reviews on this site, I decided to give The Winch a try on a Sunday. I would compare the food to that of an elderly relative who has limited ability in the kitchen. Over cooked veg, soggy roast pots and parsnips, flaccid Yorkshire puddings. The meat however was well cooked. Disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winch also viewed

King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The Winch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.