We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in West Norfolk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Bistro

Market Bistro
11 Saturday Market Place, King's Lynn pe30 5dq, England
01553 771 483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Small, family run, informal bistro with an emphasis on casual dining using local, sustainable produce. Owned and loved by chef owner Richard and his wife Lucy.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best in West Norfolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited many times and really impressed with food quality and friendly service. The chef sources local produce before transforming it into memorable meals, both in taste and presentaion.
Definitely our favourite restaurant, particularly for special occasions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    51
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cracking restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited for the first time last Friday evening and after all the reviews had pretty high expectations and they were certainly met!

Very happy to find a place like this in King's Lynn! First thing you will notice is the decor of the place which is modern and smart, but still welcoming and warm.

Next up you are greeted by one of the wonderful waiting staff who will take you to your table and give menus and give you complimentary home-made bread. The restaurant was pretty busy, but you always felt that the waitresses had time for you and nothing felt rushed.

We skipped starters (I had my eye on a dessert!) and went straight into mains, I ordered Praise the Pork, with a carafe of wine! Excellent food well presented, and with GRAVY! Being northern this was excellent is an often missed detail. The black pudding gratin was delicious as well. If I had a minor criticism it would be the wooden block it was served on, which of course looked great, but the gravy would roll into the grooves and you would 'lose' it... so this wasn't great and bit frustrating. Would have preferred to have it on a rectangle plate or something so it could still maintain the presentation.

My wife had the fish pie and loved it too!

For dessert I had the rhubarb, which was served with delicious panna cotta and rhubarb sorbet and it was excellent! My wife had the chocolate delice thing which looked stunning but it was a bit too heavy and rich for us. Very nice but got a bit sickly after a while. I'm sure choco-holics will ADORE this pudding, so this was more a bad choice by us than the actual pudding!

Overall this was a great evening and a delicious meal and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KING'S LYNN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First time visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was the first time we had dined at this restaurant with friends, the service and food were all very good, we had just a few niggles, my friends wife decided to have the ham hock starter with toast, the toast was so hard she had to leave it as it nearly broke her tooth.
Also perhaps the water jug could have ice and some lemon added for freshness, and maybe to add to the coffee's some after mints to make it more enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No 1 restaurant in Kings Lynn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Never been disappointed with any dish, quality food and lovely staff. Would recommend booking as you don't want to miss out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We really enjoyed everything we chose from the varied menu. It was beautifully presented and served promptly and with good explanations and ready answers to our questions. The goats cheese and beetroot starter was inspired - really delicious. And the chocolate delice - well I am glad I shared it as it was so rich and unctuous - not to be missed. Helpful staff warned of approaching traffic wardens which saved us a parking fine in the poorly marked pay and display opposite. Get your ticket for £1 then go to the restaurant for a fantastic meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Bistro also viewed

 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Market Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.